internet famous.jpgTitle: Internet Famous

Author: Danika Stone

Genre: YA contemporary

Status: Standalone

Goodreads


Synopsis:

High school senior and internet sensation Madison Nakama seems to have it all: a happy family, good grades, and a massive online following for her pop-culture blog. But when her mother suddenly abandons the family, Madi finds herself struggling to keep up with all of her commitments.

Fandom to the rescue! As her online fans band together to help, an online/offline flirtation sparks with Laurent, a French exchange student. Their internet romance—played out in the comments section of her MadLibs blog—attracts the attention of an internet troll who threatens the separation of Madi’s real and online personas. With her carefully constructed life unraveling, Madi must uncover the hacker’s identity before he can do any more damage, or risk losing the people she loves the most… Laurent included.

my-review-lightuptheshiningnightstars

I first heard of the book through twitter when a book blogger I follow tweeted while reading it. It sounded like a book I would totally love, so the second I could get my hands on it, I read it.

It’s been about two weeks since I read it, and I don’t remember a lot (blame finals) but I shall try to give a proper review.

Here’s a list form, simply because:

  1. Madi.

I LOVED her! She was so relatable and I had absolutely no problem in diving into her and the story. She’s a shy girl who has a (really popular) blog on tumblr which is basically surrounded around rewatches of movies. Throughout the book we see her watching films, live-tweeting along with all her followers while watching the movie, and also giving a review on her blog later. She takes online classes and spends a lot of her time around the schedule of her younger sister Sarah, who has special needs (not named in the book).

2. Sarah

Sarah is someone who needs routine. Madi picks her up from school at the same time, standing in the same place, she and Madi watch TV at a certain time at night, and such. Since there’s only Madi who seems to care, a lot of her routine includes Madi following it. I really liked her character and how her diagnosis (?) was deliberately not pointed out. I hated that their parents didn’t care for Sarah.

3. Madi and Sarah’s relationship

Almost all the time Madi is thinking about Sarah, but in the moments where we see them leaning on each other emotionally—especially Madi taking comfort from Sarah, were my favourites. I absolutely LOVED them being sisters and any moment between them :’)

4. The blogging life

I’ve never read about rewatches, so this was interesting. As in every book centering around bloggers, we have problems related to fame. Madi has a stalker. And she suspects the person to be one of her followers. This includes the “danger” part of the story.

The part I loved most, and this might seem small, of her as a blogger was how she communicated with her followers, and circumvented around the needy and loud follower. It was interesting to read about when she finally met a lot of hem face-to-face.

5. The romance

When she was feeling low one day, Madi decides to text a follower of hers and vent. She quickly makes a bond with Laurent and later agrees to meet up with a lot of her followers for a gathered rewatch. There’s romance between her and Laurent and it’s seen online to everyone after that, the way they tweet and converse. It does become a problem with favouritism and such, at one point.

I liked their story, but I wasn’t overly attached to it. Their dates were cute and it was all nice, but something held me back from liking it. The next point will tell you what.

6. Laurent

He was TOO. DARN. PERFECT.

This was what I had a major problem with, throughout the book. Laurent was COMPLETELY PERFECT. It felt unreal. Not only was he the best gentleman ever, he cared for Madi so much, was always there, he was tall and handsome. He also did NOT have any life problem. NADA.

And as if the looks weren’t enough? HE WAS FRENCH. All that French accent and cuteness and hotness and… stahp. Enough.

Usually in books like this, where I relate a lot, I love the romantic interest. I have found the one book where I didn’t.

 

Overall

I would have been in love with the book, if not for Laurent. Somehow, with him being too perfect, I couldn’t love the book much since the romance keeps popping up.

Since the ending gave me a high, I initially rated it a 4.5 (on the high) but after thinking on it, I changed my rating to 3.5. Guess it’s a good thing I write reviews quite late—I can provide a coherent, well-thought point of view.

three-and-a-half-stars

 

