searching for beautiful.jpgTitle: Searching for Beautiful

Author: Jennifer Probst

Genre: Adult contemporary romance

Status: Book 3 of Searching For series, but can be read as a standalone

Goodreads || Amazon


Synopsis:

Genevieve MacKenzie has her life completely under control. About to wed the charming Chief doctor at the local hospital, she’s an up-and-coming surgeon with everything she could ever want. Until an escape through the church window on the day of her wedding sends her life into a tailspin…and flings her right into her best friend’s arms.

When Wolfe catches his best friend falling out a window on her wedding day, he doesn’t ask questions. He whisks her away, determined to watch over her and discover the truth behind her desperate escape. But when his feelings turn more than platonic, he realizes he may risk his most important relationship in order to protect his damaged heart, and the woman he loves.

Can Genevieve and Wolfe’s friendship turn into something deeper—or is it already too late for true love?

my-review-lightuptheshiningnightstars

(Yes, I’m still in my romance-reading streak.)

I wanted to read a story about best friends who become lovers, and Goodreads showed me a list including this.

The Plot

Genevieve is a surgeon-in-training, about to marry her boss. The book starts with her panicking right before her wedding. Just normal wedding jitters? She doesn’t think so. On a whim, listening to her gut, she jumps out the window in her wedding dress, planning to run. Coincidentally, her best friend Wolfe was smoking just near where she landed. He helps her in running away and takes her to a holiday place to recoup and recover before dealing with the aftermath.

But, there’s that chemistry bubbling up between them. This is a romance story, after all. They fall in love.

The plot is mostly about Gen getting over her ex-fiance. She felt suffocated and trapped in that relationship, and without her realising he slowly began dominating her life and cutting off any connections that may make her realise that this isn’t right. I loved reading a book where the abuse was mental, not physical (at least, hadn’t been by the time she ran away) and the character’s recovery from it. She slowly started SEEING what exactly that douche was doing. The book portrayed abuse which doesn’t seem harmful to anyone because of the abuser’s smartness.

The Characters

  • I really liked reading from Gen‘s POV. She was a character you could easily get into.
  • Wolfe was charming. He’s exactly the guy you wouldn’t assume to be how he is. He also has a dark past, but it wasn’t thrown into the reader’s face. All the issues were appropriately addressed and handled. I basically loved Wolfe. I might want to clone him into real life. Just a teeny bit. I LOVED how much he loved his adoptive family and was this big SWEETHEART.
  • All of Gen’s friends (who were featured in the previous books of this series, I presume) were really cool. I really liked the group dynamic.
  • Wolfe’s fam were THE BEST EVER. They are so supportive and loving and just amazing ❤
  • David, Gen’s fiance, was very well written. I absolutely hated him as a person. He deserved worse.

The Romance

It wasn’t insta-love, obviously. But it was also not “I broke up with my fiance a minute back and now I want you”. Wolfe loved her for a while but from Gen’s side, it was slow. And I’m really damn glad about the pace of the relationship. If Gen and Wolfe started dating within a short time of the wedding disaster, I would have negatively criticised it.

Also, the chemistry between them. I could almost FEEL it. They totally fit and were perfect ❤

Overall

A light enough read, not too heavy for the heart. It’s one of those books I would read in the morning while sitting in the balcony with a drink. It gives you the feels and makes you feel really happy by the end. If you like romance, I say go for this!

I quite want to read the other books of this series. I might, a while later.

five-stars

 

 

