22471033Title: Touch & Go

Author: Mira Lyn Kelly

Genre: NA contemporary romance

Status: Second book of the Dare to love trilogy, but can be read as standalone

Goodreads


Synopsis:

Vivacious and successful, Ava Meyers is living her dream life, except for one thing: Ever since childhood, she’s been in love with her best friend . . . and she’s never admitted it. Back then, Sam Farrow was a damaged young man with a tough past. Now he’s supremely confident, super-sexy, and totally untouchable—until the night when Sam pretends to be Ava’s boyfriend to save her from some unwanted attention. In a moment of weakness, Ava finds out that a long friendship is no match for blistering sexual chemistry.

After years of denying his own feelings, Sam finds that one amazing night with Ava isn’t enough to chase away all the pent-up fantasies. So he proposes they spend a few weeks driving each other wild, exhausting their every desire, and then return to their perfect platonic relationship like nothing ever happened. But Sam’s plan has one fatal flaw: the part where they give each other up. Because the more they let go of their inhibitions, the more they’re tempted to never go back.

my-review-lightuptheshiningnightstars

Read my review of the first book of this trilogy, Truth and Dare, here.

I found this book through “books-like-this” lists on Goodreads, and since I really like best-friends-to-lovers stories, this was right up my alley! I had such high expectations because it sounded SO GOOD in the synopsis. I literally read through the first book in HOURS so I could get to this in time.

But?

I was really disappointed. I finished this in a few hours as well but it was mostly because I expected something great to happen or for it to have a really pretty ending. I did get a HEA, but I wasn’t happy? Why? Why why oh why? I believe I have found another one of the very few best-friends-to-lovers books I did NOT like.

What was actually in the book?

We have Ava and Sam—best of friends and utterly perfect together. Why are they not dating? Some stupid reasons. Which make up the book.

Ava is completely in love with Sam. Sam is the guy who goes through one-nighters like they’re nothing. And she stays his best friend. Because of more stupid reasons (or maybe the same? I don’t care?).

In my review of Truth and Dare, I mentioned that it was very refreshing to read a romance book without dark and depressing pasts. Well, we get that in this book through Sam. I wasn’t happy. Honestly, the whole plot just didn’t call out to me when I actually read the book.

Especially the ending! What was that!! I hated that make-up scene where they FINALLY get together! Oh my gosh. Just, no.

Did I at least like the characters?

  • Ana: not really. I quite liked her before but she failed to charm me in this book. Shame.
  • Sam: I kinda liked him but not as much as I expected I would. (If you ask me to pick, Tyler from the previous book, no doubts)
  • The friends were pretty much the same as in the last book so I’m not gonna bother with that. They were fine. I liked reading further about Maggie and Tyler.

Do I want to talk about the romance?

Thanks for asking! I don’t, in fact.

Short story: I didn’t like it.

So overall..

The whole book felt like a disappointment and I’m sad over it. True to it’s title, it was touch and go for me. Maybe if you went in without expectations it’ll be good? I don’t know?

two-and-a-half-stars

