Discussion posts

The Book Blogger Insider tag

Hello. It’s me. I’m drowning in pending book reviews. But here’s a tag for you to see.

 

Do you know the problem with reading books very fast? And being a book blogger? You want to review most of them, but you can’t post so many reviews a day? And I don’t want to bore y’all with consecutive book reviews only?? Also there’s so much more I want to post about, since my blog isn’t only about books???

(Move on already)

book blogger insider.png

I saw this tag over at Howling Libraries and it looked nice so I decided I’ll do it. She didn’t tag me, but who cares, really? ๐Ÿ˜›

Rules:

  • Answer the questions below.
  • Credit the creator; Jamie atย A Little Slice of Jamie.
  • Tag at least five people.
  • Have fun!

 

Where do you typically write your blog posts?

In front of the computer, usually. I prefer blogging on the desktop nowadays as I can do the graphics as well at the same time.

Otherwise, if I want to be more comfortable and have to only type, I blog on my phone. I don’t do this a lot, but when I want to blog, but I’m just not feeling it in that room, I blog on my phone. I make the graphics on another day, if required. I hate blogging on the WordPress app, so I usually just do it in the browser, as I am now.

 

How long does it generally take you to write a book review?

Typing up the review? Half an hour to an hour, depending on whether I’m multi-tasking or not.

I usually take a few days to a few weeks to type up the review after I read the book, as I’m busy or whatever. So when I sit down to type, I go back and try to remember everything and then give a proper review. Therefore, it takes a while.

(I am currently 11 book reviews behind. #help)

 

When did you start your book blog?

(Not technically only a book blog. I don’t stick to a niche.)

I started on January 16th, 2016. It’s been a year and a half and I still love blogging โค It was meant to be only for reviews but I digress.

bb insider tag pinterest image.png

What is the worst thing about having a book blog in your opinion?

I want to review everything. Well, almost everything.

As I read quite fast, and I love to read a lot, I pick up books immediately after finishing the previous one. And whether I like the book or not, I’ll usually want to review them and I simply don’t have the time to review all of them.

And speaking personally, I know that only reading reviews is boring. I like to change up between posts and talk about different things. This also means that I can’t post all the reviews soon after I read them, and I schedule them for a later (and sometimes WAY later) date.

There’s also the constant comparison between other blogs and mine. I LOVE reading blog posts and reviews where the writing is comical, jovial and fun to read. How much ever I try, I tend to be more formal and serious in my reviews, no matter how much I wish my writing was fun. So yeah, confidence levels are always bobbing up and down.

(Wait, was I supposed to say only one thing? Meh, it’s okay.)

 

What is the best thing about having a book blog in your opinion?

I can talk about books all I want. I can vent, rant, rave, whateverโ€”how much ever I want to. Granted, I don’t do it much since I usually rant WHILE READING to my best friends, but I can.

I also love the book blogging community, which kinda comes like a bonus. True, there are issues and debates popping up all the time. But I love that there’s a whole COMMUNITY of people wanting to talk about books. โค

(Again, didn’t stick to one point, did I?)

 

What blog post have you had the most fun writing so far?

I do have some that I had a lot of fun writing.. but I can’t choose ONE. Plus, some of them won’t fit the book blogging category so.. let’s move on to the next question ๐Ÿ˜›

 

What is your favorite type of blog post to write?

Other than the reviews where I rant/rave to my heart’s content? Discussion posts.

If we’re talking about book-blogging categories, I think my favourites are the Top Ten Tuesday memes. TTT is the first meme I’ve ever done (and doing) and it includes 2 things I really love:

  • Books and
  • Lists

 

When do you typically write?

During the semester, mostly on Sunday mornings. I jot down ideas and notes throughout the week on blog posts and type them up on blogging-sprees on Sundays. I schedule them for the next open dates.

Otherwise, just when I’ve got a few hours consecutively since I like doing more than one post per sitting. This also includes the graphics and updating my review index and such.

 

Do you review every book you read?

If I did, I’d either have to publish a review a day (at least), or I’ll have scheduled reviews months in advance. Not trying to brag, but I’m quite close to achieving my Goodreads reading challenge 2017 which I set to 150 books.

No, I don’t review all the books I read, but I wish I could.

 

How do you write your book reviews? With a cup of coffee or tea? With Netflix? Cuddled with your fur baby?

On those Sunday mornings, I blog right after breakfast so nothing to eat. But if I’ve been blogging for well over an hour, I get a drink for myself.

I usually blog with music in the background. Only sometimes does the music distract me, so it’s fine.

 

How often do you post?

Once in two or three days. I used to blog everyday before college began, but I quickly adapted (and loved) the scheduling ahead system. This way, if a certain week is very hectic for me, I don’t have to worry as I’ve scheduled for it in advance.

 

And I tag everyone because all of you are special little unicorns who deserve to be tagged.

 

What’s your blogging life like? Do you relate with any of my answers? Let me know your answers to all of them below, or do the tag and link me up to ย it! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

10 thoughts on “The Book Blogger Insider tag

  1. I totally relate to drowning in books to review!! I want to review all of the ones I read but when I binge and finish a lot at the same time it’s super stressful!! I love the bookish community so much, it’s one of the reasons I’ve managed to keep my blog going for 2 years now (also it’s super impressive how well you’ve done in so short a time ๐Ÿ™‚ )
    Thanks for following my blog, I’m glad to have found yours!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

