Book talk

Top ten 5 star reads of 2017 (yet)

top ten 5 star reads of 2017.png

Hello again!

The topic for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday hosted by the lovely peeps over at The Broke and The Bookish is Best books you’ve read in 2017 so far. And I’m here to share exactly that. So let’s kick it off with..

we were liars1. We were liars by E. Lockhart

I didn’t pick up this book until this year, and I really wish I had earlier because it’s so good! If I had to describe it in one word, I would say it was haunting. For DAYS after I finished reading it I couldn’t move on. SUCH a good book. And the twist in the end, oh my gosh. Hats off. My heart and I were a mess after I turned the last page.

Goodreads

kiss-of-deception2. The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

This has been sitting in my TBR for so long (ever since I saw the favourites YouTube video by Sasha Alsberg) and I finally got around to it this year, only to finish the whole trilogy in three days because I LOVED IT. The first book was the best, and it got me so into the series. Also, can I say how the love story panned out was amazing? Totes made me love the characters so much more. At times I was very confused whom to ship (because hello love triangle) but I liked both the developments.

P.S. I hated the ending outcome because nothing felt right but the journey was really good.

Goodreads

queens of geek.jpg3. Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

Two kinds love stories which all us geeks dream of happening, that too in SupaCon (which is like Comic Con)! It’s basically all my geeky dreams coming true. And the thing is, I don’t know which I would prefer because BOTH are #geekylovelifegoals. I read the book in one sitting and was so giddy by the end, I was on a happiness-high rest of the day.

Goodreads

307241324. Geekerella by Ashley​ Poston

Talking about geeks.. this is one other story I loved. I was looking for books like Queen of Geek when I came upon this one.

Geekerella reminded me a lot of Cinder & Ella by Kelly Oram, especially since both are variations of Cinderella, only with geeks and a comic convention. Nonetheless, I loved the book and especially how the love story came about (which is also quite similar to that in Cinder & Ella, now that I think about it).

Goodreads

love-and-gelato5. Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

Italy, Pizza, Gelato, weird homes, very unlikely-looking father figure, a mother’s diary talking about her love in Italy, and a cute boy bringing a cuter romance. What could go wrong?

Read my complete review.

Goodreads

a-list6. A list of cages by Robin Roe

The book made me feel so darn much, I still remember how worn out my heart was in the end. I think my heart finally shattered when I realised the title’s meaning while reading. I totally recommend the book to anyone and everyone.

Read my detailed review.

Goodreads

reason to breathe.jpg7. Reason to breathe by Rebecca Donovan

I DEVOURED this trilogy in two days. And every book made me feel so much and also left me numb that when I desperately tried to write a review, I simply couldn’t. I couldn’t sort through my feelings.

It’s story isn’t something very phenomenal and you might argue that there are so many other books with similar storylines, only better. But the way it’s written and narrated pulled me in so deep and refused to let go.

I CRIED after the first book, and I immediately went online to check if there’s a sequel because that COULDN’T be the ending. I had refused to accept that as the ending. There’s so much pain in this book, and I think it’s shown pretty well.

Goodreads

a conjuring of light8. A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab

A BRILLIANT ending to the trilogy. Can I just mention how I’m still blown by the world building in this series? It’s definitely one of my favourite trilogies.

Read my detailed review here.

Goodreads

my sister's keeper.jpg9. My sister’s keeper by Jodi Picoult

I only picked up this book after a close friend read it and said that I HAD to read it. And I’m SO GLAD she pushed me to read it soon.

I felt so much during the course of the story, and the multiple POVs were written really well. This is one realistic story which shows that, sometimes, there is no solution which ends with everyone happy and satisfied. And this story drove it home that there is so much pain in people’s lives, and that I’m really lucky to be living a normal life.

I know that it’s a popular book, and there’s even a movie based on it (which my friends insisted that I must not watch), but if you somehow haven’t read the book, I definitely recommend you pick it up ASAP. And also clear your schedule for later as you’ll be in a book hangover.

Goodreads

alex, approximately.jpg10. Alex, approximately by Jenn Bennet

I’ll say it—I love relationships that build online as well as offline. It’s like falling in love with both sides of the person. And I do stand by the ideal that people’s inner real self is the anonymous one online.

This is a story of Bailey/Mink and Porter/Alex through them connecting online and also falling for each other offline, before they figure out that they’ve known each other for way longer online. The only part I didn’t like throughout the book was how clueless Bailey was. The clues were right in front of her and she didn’t put it all together until Porter, giving up on her figuring it out herself, showed up as Alex.

The romance was so cute, though. I love cute romances in YA.

Goodreads

 

Aand I’m going to sign off abruptly here because my finals have (FINALLY) begun. I’ve read about 20% of my course syllabus and I’m still procrastinating right now. I NEED TO GO BYE.

 

Have you read any of these books? What’s your opinion? And do drop a link to your TTT of the week, if you’ve published as well!

29 thoughts on “Top ten 5 star reads of 2017 (yet)

  1. I really enjoyed The Kiss of Deception. I still need to read the last book in the series though! And I still haven’t started the Shades of Magic series! Now that it is complete I’ll have to binge read them all together. What a great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. WE WERE LIARS WAS SO AMAZING! So, I read it from 1 am to 4am (my body clock was a mess) and the sun’s about to rise and I’m crying so hard because that ending was just so heartbreaking! I just fell in love with the characters and then there’s the twist and the crying! AHHH!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. i really, really need to read a list of cages. i’ve seen this book popping out in a lot of people’s lists and i haven’t even read it yet! i’m sure i’ll love it, though. i also really liked the kiss of deception, even if the second book disappointed me a bit.
    i think for my favorite books of 2017, i’d have to mention the harry potter series. this is my first time ever reading it, and although i’m still on book 5, i’ve loved every single second of it. i can fully understand now why everyone loves this series so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. WELCOME TO THE HP FANDOM! So glad you’re (finally) reading it and loving it! And I agree with you on Kiss of Deception, the first book was the best and the further two weren’t the same. I hope you like A List of Cages when you read it!

      Like

  4. We Were Liars and My Sister’s Keeper were both two of my absolute favorite books so I am so glad to see them on your list! 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YES AND YESSS TO A CONJURING OF LIGHT LIKE OMG ALL THE FLAILING. WHY IS IT SO PERFECT SO PURE SO GLORIOUS. 😍 I also adored A List of Cages so so much *flails* It was heartbreaking and perfect and feelings of ALL the things. I really wnat to read the My Sister’s Keeper book someday too! I actually saw the movie first (years ago shhh I didn’t even know it was a book😂) and thought it was really good! Also Geekerella and Queens of Geek were GLORIOUS fandom appreciation moments. *stamps with approval*

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m glad you enjoyed We Were Liars, unfortunately I didn’t enjoy it as much but it’s one of those books that’s either a hit or miss for most people. Alex, Approximately is one book I plan on devouring in the next month or so.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

