Book Reviews

Until Lilly || exactly what I was looking for

18781540Title: Until Lilly

Author: Aurora Rose Reynolds

Genre: NA Contemporary Romance

Status: Book 3 of Until series

Goodreads || Amazon IN || Amazon US || Amazon UK || book depository


Synopsis:

When Cash Mayson was forced to choose between the love of his life and his unborn child, he knew exactly what he had to do. No matter how broken it left him.

When Lilly Donovan was forced to accept that the guy she loved wasn’t who she thought he was and became a single mother, she knew exactly what she had to do. Proving just how strong she was.
What happens when years later you find out that everything you thought you knew was a lie?

Can two people who once loved each other overcome the obstacles that are thrown at them and fall in love all over again?

Cash Mayson had forgotten how it felt to be loved Until Lilly came back into his life. And now that he remembers, he will do everything within his power to keep not only the woman that he loves, but also his children.

The power of love is a beautiful thing.

my-review-lightuptheshiningnightstars

Back in February and again in April, I got an urge to read book with secret baby romance tropes. In case you don’t know,

Secret-baby romance trope is basically a story where two people slept together, got separated due to some reason, and a while after that the girl finds out she’s pregnant but is not able to/won’t approach the father. Sometime after the baby is born (months or years), the father comes back into their lives and finds out about the baby. Book ends with a Happily Ever After where they’re all together.

Cheesy, I know. But I felt like reading books along these lines. Maybe it was because I was listening to Rockabye on repeat, or because I remembered such a twist in another book (not gonna say which) I read last year.

Until Lilly was the top-voted book in the Goodreads list, so I read it first, and it had everything I wanted.

The Plot

Lilly and Cash were dating, and had just had sex for the first time, when an “ex” of Cash claims to be pregnant. She threatens Cash that she’ll have an abortion if he doesn’t put her first. So he breaks it off with Lilly for the baby.

But then Lilly also becomes pregnant. The one time she reaches out to Cash, the reply text told her to “get rid of it” and therefore she never bothered again.

Years later Cash and Lilly happen upon each other in a children’s play area. Cash knows the second he sees Ashlyn that she’s his. For the sake of Ashlyn Lilly agrees to not ice out Cash, and that’s their second beginning.

What I loved:

  • Level-headed MCs. They didn’t lose their minds and fight on-spot, or stay stubborn. They tried to figure it out. At this point, I’ve read enough books with the secret-baby trope to recognise the good stuff. Cash didn’t immediately start talking to lawyers about rights and custody. He thought about Lilly and her point of view too. That is HUGE.
  • Cute kids. I loved Ashlyn and Jax. They added the cuteness required into the story, and I love how they bonded instantly. It was beautiful. :’)
  • Good romance. Lilly and Cash slowly got together again. It was not immediate or hot and fast. It was realistic, and I liked that. Plus, Cash wasn’t some alpha-male who took charge instantly and started barking orders, claiming Lilly as his—no. The normalcy of this story made me love it.
  • Sexy times. It IS NA after all. I did like the sex scenes.
  • A villian. Forgive me, but I like reading books with a good ol’ bitchy villian sometimes. Slightly unrealistic? Some might say. But I still want it. Here, it was Cash’s ex. And she was portrayed pretty well.
  • #familygoals. If you’ve been reading my reviews for long enough, the one thing that never fails to make me love a book is good platonic relationships. Especially that of a family. Cash’s fam was GOALS. And I love them.

With all of this goodness, it isn’t surprising that I was sold.

Overall

If you’re looking for a good book with the trope, or simply a good NA romance book, I highly suggest picking this up.

Here’s a fact: I read the book twice. After the first time, I rated it four stars and moved on to other books with the trope. Almost all of them sucked majorly in comparison. And slowly I realized how good this book actually is, and changed my rating to 5 stars after the reread.

five-stars

 

 

3 thoughts on “Until Lilly || exactly what I was looking for

  1. Oh it’s always so great to read a really fantastic book that you like even more after a reread! *flails happily for you* I don’t reeeally read a lot of NA, but I would like to eventually read some good ones. 😜 Also may I just say that CLEAN BANDIT IS AMAZING. I love them so much!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

