Book talk

Top ten (or five) awesome dads in YA

top ten (or five).png

Hello again!

The topic for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday hosted by the awesome peeps over at The Broke and The Bookish is a Father’s day freebie. I’ve taken it to talk about some really cool dads in YA books.

Now, since I haven’t read much YA lately, and also am lazy to go way back into my read list (mostly because I’ve forgotten most of the books), I came up with only five. Better something than nothing, right? So here we go.

1. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

15749186

It’s the first book in the trilogy (still can’t believe Han wrote a THIRD book!) and I instantly fell in love with Lara Jean’s dad. He is cute, supportive, a little nervous raising three girls alone, kinda awkward, and so DARN CUTE OMG. I love his character.

Goodreads

2. Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

love-and-gelato

Even though Lina didn’t know Howard until the beginning of this book, I love how their relationship grew and how Howard turned out to be such a good dad. He learnt with everything was just the best ever. Howard is GOALS for how dad’s, and parents/family in general must be in relevance to raising a kid. You make mistakes, but you learn and you grow. You love.

Goodreads

3. Geekerella by Ashley Poston

30724132.jpg

Okay so technically we didn’t get to see Elle’s dad because he’s dead. But through the flashbacks and memories, we DO find out a lot about him, his geeky side, how he was as a dad, etc. He was TOTALLY an awesome dad. If I could share my geekiness and fandom self with my dad, I’d totally jump on the chance. There was the tiny mishap of remarrying and leaving Lina to the step-monster when he died, but it’s not his fault! He was a good dad!

Goodreads

4. On the fence by Katie West

18298225.jpg

I honestly don’t remember much about this book, but I do remember that the dad was really nice. So yeah.

Goodreads

5. Dreamology by Lucy Keating

dreamology

I remember Alice’s dad! Even though it’s been so long (a few months?) since I read it. Woo, go me!

He was forgetful, eccentric, thoughtful, also kinda unnerving because he could read Alice like an open book being a neuro-scientist. He uses his facts about the brain to figure out her antics and it was kinda cool. I really liked him ❤

Goodreads


And that’s it for today. Thank you and have a nice day. (I’m kidding. We used to day this in the end of our section of the morning assembly in school. “And that’s it for the news today. Thank you and have a nice day.” It just suited here 😛) (I shall shut up now)

Who are the best dads you’ve come across in YA books? Have you participated in this TTT as well? Link me up to your post!

11 thoughts on “Top ten (or five) awesome dads in YA

  1. Speaking of dads, I really enjoyed the dad from Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A. S. King. He has his own problems to deal with, but I loved seeing him try his best for his daughter. He was genuine in is struggles and love for Vera, and I really appreciated that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! There are some really good YA dads, though these books are literally ALL on my TBR still… *shame* My favorite YA dad is probably Arthur Weasley, or Cath and Wren’s dad from Fangirl. Ooor Isaac from Gemina. Oooor… okay I’ll stop, or we’ll be here all day. I went with worst bookish dads for this week. Here is my T10T!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

