16119079Title: Forever my girl

Author: Heidi McLaughlin

Genre: NA Contemporary Romance

Status: Part of The Beaumont series but can be read as a standalone.

Goodreads || Amazon IN || Amazon US || Amazon UK || book depository


Synopsis:

I was never supposed to be a rock star. I had my life all planned out for me. Play football in college. Go to the NFL. Marry my high school sweetheart and live happily ever after.

I broke both our hearts that day when I told her I was leaving. I was young. I made the right decision for me, but the wrong decision for us. I’ve poured my soul into my music, but I’ve never forgotten her. Her smell, her smile.

And now I’m going back.

After ten years.

I hope I can explain that after all this time.

I still want her to be my forever girl.

my-review-lightuptheshiningnightstars

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it before but I went on a downward (or upward, depending on how you take it) spiral of books with secret-baby tropes. Basically, girl and guy have sex, separate for various reasons, girl finds out she’s pregnant, guy finds our years later and second-time round of falling in love (with a child, too, of course).

Turns out, after the initial raging craving for it, it’s now appearing in short spikes. Can I take this moment to let you know HOW FEW GOOD BOOKS exist on this topic? VERY FEW. I now can list a number of things that could go wrong with such a plot because I’ve done enough research.

Anyway, onto the book. I shall give my review in a list because #lists_are_awesome and I just feel like. (Bear with me pls thanks)

The Plot

  • Liam is the usual rock star living the usual rock star life (which we see in other NA romance books). But *gasp* TWIST! He already found love (Josie) and he actually left her to give a shot at this life. Not the usual “meets girl who has no clue who he is or knows and hates him and they fall in love” etc.
  • They were going to have a white-picket fence life with adorable kids in a small town and he left because SO SUBURBAN AND I WANNA SING BYE.
  • Sure, their hearts broke. Also ANOTHER TWIST! She found out she was pregnant after he dumped her so crudely. You won’t know this from the book but then the blurb is also a teeny bit vague. (I dislike vague and vague-ish blurbs.)
  • Due to a tragic event, Liam comes back to the town, sad and also longing for Josie. Btw this is after TEN LONG YEARS. Yeah, he ditched everyone from his old life, even bestie. *sniff*
  • (I need to finish this section fast I’m basically giving away the story dammit)
  • Josie moved on. She now has a 9 year old amazing son. Liam is shocked.
  • They fall in love again, but it takes a while and a lot of work on his side.

What I liked:

  • Liam was actually nice. Josie was also cool.
  • NOAH (their kid) WAS AWESOME.
  • Liam didn’t barge in and start claiming Josie as his when he found out that Josie moved on with Nick (who wanted her even when she was with Liam). He only didn’t compromise on his son. Nick or him was Josie’s choice.
  • Liam and Noah ❤
  • We get to see glimpses of the old Liam and Josie through flashbacks and I absolutely adore that stage of them.
  • There weren’t any tragic mistakes or things in the book that I absolutely hated (like so many others) and this deserves a good rating cuz of that because it’s kind oF A JEWEL. OKAY? OKAY.

What I didn’t like:

  • Stupid, but, I really wish the author had chosen more distinguishable names instead of Noah,  Nick and Liam. In the beginning few chapters I got confused between all of them. And for about half the book I confused Noah and Nick and kept getting annoyed that “wait wasn’t she just hugging Nick and being like omg my kid?? why is she kissing him now?? oh wait.. that was NOAH.”
  • Also, when (inevitably) true love wins and Josie breaks up with Nick, the emotional toll on Noah (the kid) isn’t shown?? Nick just went *POOF* and it had absolutely NO effect on Noah?? Nick was like a father to him! For YEARS!
  • And since we’re on that, Nick and Josie were together for SIX years and things down-spiralled so fast. It was like Nick was a new person with Liam back. Either he was hiding that side of him for so long, or the execution in the book was off. Six years. Finished in ONE NIGHT. Just like that. That was my biggest peeve.

Overall

A good book. One of the few I would recommend first which has the secret-baby trope. If you like rock stars, second chances, father-son bonding and no very tragic peeves with the book, I definitely suggest giving this boom a shot.

three-and-a-half-stars

