A Gleam of Light || down an informative road about Hopi Indians

a gleam of light.jpgTitle: A Gleam of Light

Authors: T.J. and M.L. Wolf

Genre: Fiction

Status: Book One of The Survival Trilogy

Goodreads || Amazon IN || Amazon US ||

Synopsis:

In 1995, at the age of eight, Una Waters survived a terrifying encounter at 30,000 feet aboard Flight 564 from Dallas to Las Vegas. It changed her forever. After 21 years, and a decade away from the Hopi Reservation where she grew up as a child, a surprise plea for help brings Una back, to solve a mystery that threatens their traditional way of life. The U.S. Army’s sudden interest regarding a cave discovery in the Sacred Peaks has triggered alarm, leading to violence. With the help of friends, new and old, Una must confront her painful past, seek proof to qualify the ancient site for protection under law, and stand up to a stiff-necked general, whose agenda is more concerned with retrieving a mysterious power source.

my-review-lightuptheshiningnightstars

I received a free copy of the book from the authors (THANK YOU!!) in exchange for a review. This does not affect my review in any way.

The whole story revolves around Hopi Indians in Arizona—their myths, traditions and beliefs. I was very intrigued because I had never heard of this tribe before. Naturally, knowing they’re called that, I looked for similarities between their cultures and mine. I found none, actually, and became increasingly confused as to why they’re called Hopi Indians. From the story, I know that they’re not migrants either. Once done with this review, I’ll be heading off to research about them more.

The Plot

Una Waters comes back home to Arizona and her people after several years to try and resolve an issue on behalf of her tribe and the US government/army. The army personnel are trying to get to a cave hoping to understand better about something unknown, but it’s on sacred ground which are supposedly protected by an act of the law in favour of the natives. While trying to be a medium between both parties, many more things get uncovered and the readers are taken on a journey of history and myth (which also include supernatural elements).

Honestly, it’s hard to condense the whole plot into a few lines. I had thought that the Goodreads synopsis was a little too vague to properly understand what the book is about, but now that I’ve read it, I understand how hard it is to write a synopsis.

Here are a few things that are spoken about in the book:

  • Hopi Indians and their struggles.
  • The myths, beliefs and traditions of the tribe.
  • Talk about stages of the world. This is the only thing that kind of matched one of our stories (here in India) which says that we’re currently living in the “fourth” world and the world will start anew after this (or something like that..).
  • US government/army ops. Their “secret” projects.
  • UFOs, “Sky People”.
  • Unexplainable happenings around the world. This part I loved the most. They acknowledged, and tried to explain, things such as people learning new languages out of the blue, people becoming geniuses overnight etc.

I loved that there was so much research done into the topic of this book, because I never felt like I had to Google and do research on m own to understand things. Everything was explained, but not as if they’re giving us a glossary. Even if my “research” doesn’t get many results, I still learnt a lot from the book itself.

The Characters

I liked Una. She wasn’t very special regarding talents or anything, but her personality was perfect for the role. She had the determination to fight for her people, and that is what I loved about her most. Even though the book is written in third person POV, her patriotism and love is clearly seen.

I quite liked all the people of her tribe. They were written perfectly. I loved that we could exactly get the vibe of Hopi.

Una had met two of the characters Jack and Ashcroft before, so they have a bit of history and an event that binds them. They are kind of secondary main characters—compared to Una. I didn’t like either of them, though. They were just okay.

The Romance

There wasn’t any. Honestly, if there was, I would have been quite put off because I don’t think it would seam well with the storyline and the characters, during all of the events taking place. There are a few hints to further developments but we don’t see any of those things happening in the current timeline. I’m glad for that. It was a good choice of the authors to leave it out.

 

Overall

A book to pick up if you’re in the mood for some history, diversity and to learn about new things. I loved the diversity and the detailed information given to us about everything. Totally recommend if you want lots of diversity, whole new setting and some mythical (or not!) history.

three-stars

Leave a Reply

