lock and key.jpgTitle: Lock and Key

Author: Sarah Dessen

Genre: YA contemporary

Status: Standalone

Goodreads || Amazon US || Amazon UK || Amazon IN || book depository ||


Synopsis:

“Ruby, where is your mother?” Ruby knows that the game is up. For the past few months, she’s been on her own in the yellow house, managing somehow, knowing that her mother will probably never return.That’s how she comes to live with Cora, the sister she
hasn’t seen in ten years, and Cora’s husband Jamie, whose down-to-earth demeanor makes it hard for Ruby to believe he founded the most popular networking Web site around. A luxurious house, fancy private school, a new wardrobe, the promise of college and a future—it’s a dream come true. So why is Ruby such a reluctant Cinderella, wary and defensive? And why is Nate, the genial boy next door with some secrets of his own, unable to accept the help that Ruby is just learning to give?

my-review-lightuptheshiningnightstars

I usually like Dessen’s books, and that’s why picked this up the second I saw it in a second-hand bookstore. Unfortunately, I didn’t like it that much.

The Plot

I didn’t like the plot much, to be honest. When Ruby is placed under her sister’s guardianship, complete with a good place to live and opportunities that could take her places in life, she’s still very bitter and wants to leave. I almost felt like going through and yelling at her to at least make use of the opportunities! A really good school, crowd and lifestyle is there for her. And yet, she just wants to run away.

She does start opening up and settling down, although it takes months. But I never got a feeling that she really CARED about anything. It’s hard to relate when it feels like she’s simply doing the minimum.

The plot revolves around her understanding the definition of family, accepting relationships and help. But you might not even realise that it is so unless you sit down and dissect everything you’ve read to figure it out. It all felt very… dull. But that could also be because the MC wasn’t animated AT ALL.

IMG_20170216_191045_823.jpg

The Characters

The characters in this book really put me off. I didn’t have any issue in Dessen’s other books, but I simply didn’t resonate with or attach to any one from Lock & Key. The only character I MILDLY understood was Nate, the MC’s romantic interest. Every character was just okay, if you ask me to rate them.

Only one side character had an oomph factor, and she wasn’t even portrayed that much.

The Romance

I wasn’t impressed by this, either, to be honest. It wasn’t insta-love, far from it actually, but there also wasn’t much chemistry or substance in the relationship. It felt dull too.

The only thing I liked in the book

Ruby carried around the key of the only house which felt like home on a thin rope around her neck. When she started working for a jeweller, it set off a trend as the designer made other “KeyChains” with decorated keys on chains and sold them. I liked the idea so much that I took a decorated key from a normal keychain I had, put it on a chain, and wore it for a while.

Overall

Not a great read, and definitely didn’t like it as much as the other Dessen books I’ve read. It was a bit disappointing actually. As I bought the book in a second-hand bookstore, I’m planning on selling it back and buying some other book with the money I’ll get.

two-and-a-half-stars

 

Have you read this book? Have you read any other Sarah Dessen books? What did you think? Do you think the KeyChains trend is cool too? Do you have any accessory like that? Or any accessory which is sentimental? 

