General

Will I be successful?

will I be successful.png

I went to the bank with my mom and grandpa the other day and I saw a poster put up. It’s title “Ten commandments of success”. Since I was bored and jobless, I read it and started evaluating whether I’d be successful. I thought I’d share my musings with y’all too.

ten-commandments-of-success-CK29_l.jpg

{1} Speak to people

There is nothing as nice as a cheerful greeting.

Okay, I’d fail at this. I’m an introvert and when I see anyone familiar while outside other than my close friends, I’d rather pretend I never noticed them and move on. I wouldn’t even try to approach strangers. I cannot social, okay? okay. I’d rather read books at home.

FAIL.png

{2} Smile

It takes 72 muscles to frown. Only 14 to smile.

I can smile to strangers such as shop-keepers or drivers. But smiling to start a conversation? Smiling to someone I don’t know? Yeah.. no. Besides if it takes more muscles to frown, it could be considered exercise, right?

FAIL.png

{3} Call people by name

Everyone is pleased when you call them by name.

That is true. Even I’m impressed when a meager acquaintance calls me by name. But doing it myself? I can remember faces but most of the times names just evaporate from my head. I asked my college friends their names at least twice in the beginning.

FAIL.png

{4} Be friendly and helpful

And others will respond in kind manner.

Does politeness count as friendliness? I am pretty friendly and helpful, if I say so myself, when approached. I try. I shall consider this a..

fail-1

{5} Speak and act

as if everything you do were a genuine pleasure.

I mean.. I don’t think I can do that. If I have to do something I’m not happy about, I simply make a face and do it. I’m not a great actor in that sense.

FAIL.png

{6} Be genuinely

interested in people.

*hacking cough* pffffft. Do ya know me? I don’t want to go out and see people in general itself. That makes me self conscious. And it makes my heart palpate. Nope.

FAIL.png

{7} Be generous

with praise. Cautious with criticism.

I do compliment often, to be honest. Go me! Of course, if someone’s doing something wrong, I’m more likely to point it out the more closer he/she is to me in relationship. Otherwise, I wouldn’t even criticize as that’ll start a conversation. I would do anything to avoid making myself known more. I shall consider this, too, as a..

fail-1

{8} Be considerate

with the feelings of others. It will be appreciated.

I am! Go me, again! I’m INFJ. Extraverted Feeling is one of my major functions. I care about others’ feelings more than my own.

fail-1

{9} Be thoughtful

of the opinions of others. There are three sides to every controversyโ€”yours, the other person’s and the right one.

Yep. This is me. I always think of the other person’s point of view and make sure to listen. Even though most times the courtesy is not extended to me as well.

fail-1

{10} Be willing

to give service. What counts most in life is what we do for others.

I can do this! As long as I don’t have to talk to people too muchโ€”yeah!

fail-1

 

Now, for the final result:

5/10

Hey, not bad! I thought I’d fail almost everything! *self high-five* I guess what we get from this is that I will be successful as long as I don’t have to interact with anyone. Fat chance.

Now, evaluate yourself and let me know below whether you’d be successful or not! By how much, whichever? Do you agree with these points? Or do you think this is just bogus and you’ll declare yourself successful because you’re awesome?

7 thoughts on “Will I be successful?

  1. Omg you’re a lot like me!! ๐Ÿ˜„ Now I think about it, I don’t call people by their names, when I see my friends out of school, they say: Ana! And greet me with the hand, I greet them with the hand, but I don’t call their names, I just say hi ๐Ÿ˜„ ๐Ÿ˜„
    And I’m a very serious person, I don’t smile a lot, and as you said, I don’t smile to strangers. Sometimes I smile without even noticing, but yeah, it’s kinda like doing exercise sometimes hehe ๐Ÿ˜„ ๐Ÿ˜„ ๐Ÿ˜›
    AMAZING post btw!! ๐Ÿ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

