Bullet Journalling and Creativity · Guest blogger posts

How To Start A Bullet Journal

Tips on how to start a bullet journal

Hello, everyone. My name is Just A Blank Space and you can find me at A Blog Filled With Thoughts.

I am obsessed with bullet journaling. I started it at the beginning of the year and Iridescence and I thought we would share some tips on how you can start too with you. If you want to read her tips head over to my blog.


1. Get a cute notebook

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For bullet journaling, you don’t need many supplies but I do recommend getting a cute journal because I find cute journals motivating. It doesn’t have to be expensive. My journal is a simple one without anything on because I wanted to be able to stick things on the cover as the year goes by. I also recommend getting a cute notebook with graph paper or a grid because it makes it easier to place things and write in a straight line.

2. Don’t overthink and start simple

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Don’t try to overwork it. Start with a simple spread and try to develop your style over time. Your spreads don’t have to look perfect. I always make mistakes but I am fine with it because those little mistakes are what makes it my bullet journal and not someone else’s. Just start and you will get better every week.

3. Do what works best for you

There are a lot of bullet journal accounts on Instagram that I absolutely love because their spreads are always cute but that doesn’t mean that their system works for me. My journal is different from all the accounts I follow because I mostly use it to write down my homework. There is no perfect bullet journal system. You have to find your own to make it work.

4. Cut out pictures from magazines

Green themed bullet jounal weekly spread
This is my spread for the current week. I cut out the triangles from a magazine

I love adding cute little pictures to my spreads but I don’t want to buy expensive journaling supplies all the time. That is why I usually take my mum’s old magazines and cut out cute little pictures, doodles… I could use in a spread later on.

5. Just start

If you think about starting a bullet journal don’t hesitate. Just start and try it out. If you don’t like it you can stop whenever you want. You don’t have to be good ad drawing or have a pretty handwriting. Don’t worry if you can do it. Everyone can and the best way to start is to just do it without thinking about it.


Do any of your have any more tips on how to start?

Lots of Love

Just A Blank Space

Twitter, Instagram, Bloglovin’, Tumblr

8 thoughts on “How To Start A Bullet Journal

Leave a Reply

