Book Reviews

Girl Online Going Solo || The ending I desperately needed

girl online going solo.jpgTitle: Girl Online Going Solo

Author: Zoe Sugg

Genre: YA contemporary

Status: Girl Online trilogy book 3

Goodreads || Amazon IN || Amazon US || Amazon UK || book depository || B&N ||

Synopsis:

As Penny starts the school year she’s ready to face the world – alone. Noah has gone off the radar after ending his world tour early and no one, including Penny, knows where he is. So when she accepts Megan’s invitation to visit her performing arts school it seems like an opportunity to make some new friends.

Helping everyone else seems to be the right remedy – Elliot needs her friendship more than ever, and she meets Posey, who she can really help with her stage fright. But is charming Scottish boy Callum the right kind of distraction? And can Penny truly move on when Noah’s shadow seems to haunt her round every corner?

Book three in the number-one bestselling Girl Online series.

my-review

I read Girl Online after it came up on suggestions in Goodreads (read my review of it here) and it’s sequel Girl Online: On Tour a few months back. Now, the books were good, but it didn’t feel like the story was over. I was looking for news if there’ll be a third book when I found that the author is also a YouTuber and I started following her and her boyfriend’s channels right then. Around a couple months back, she put up a vlog saying there’ll be a third book and I was so elated! I couldn’t get my hands on it until later because I’m broke.

Now, moving on to the actual review.

I wasn’t really sure of the direction this book would take in the beginning. There was a lot going on, with Penny making new friends, keeping up with old friends, family, and also thinking about Noah. The only thing I wanted was Pennoah and from the synopsis AND the beginning, it didn’t look like we’d get that, and I was sad. But, hope.

The one thing I liked in this book was how many things were going at the same time. I actually felt the realness in this book because, like so many other books, the protagonist was not limited to a couple friends, family and the guy. Like real life, she had so many people to keep up with and many spheres of life revolving at the same time. I liked that. And all of it somehow came to a close, together, in the end.

There is also a lot of personal development on Penny’s and Noah’s sides individually. Everyone has to grow themselves as a person before they can work in a relationship. They have to be someone individually too, and there was quite some of that. Penny and Noah had their own journey each.

From previous books, we know that Penny has anxiety and this is shown in this book too. We see Penny trying to work with anxiety, how it still gets the better of her, and how she’s trying to help others too. Since she has experienced anxiety, she’s also able to understand a friend’s stage fright and she tries to help her.

“..I now have the little strategies in my back pocket that help me to keep my anxiety under control. Not completely—I know it will be something that stays with me in some way for the rest of my life, and it can rear its ugly head at any moment. But as long as I rule, challenge, and accept my anxiety—and not the other way round—I know I’ll be OK.”

The one aspect I love most about Girl Online books is that Penny is a blogger, and in this book so much of the blogging scene was spoken about. The blogging community, how everyone helps each other, and even some tips for new bloggers were given!

“Blogging is all about community. You have to look out for each other. And you have to sometimes make the first move. If you like something they’ve blogged about, tell them. They might then come to yours to see what you’ve shared. Give and take, you know?”

Overall

I really liked it, as usual. There was a lot of description about Brighton and how it’s an amazing place, which just makes me want to visit it even more! I definitely recommend giving this series/trilogy a go. It’s funny, adorable, and real.

four-stars

P.S. I’m not sure if I’ve said this before, but I love reading acknowledgements given at the end of every book. I know that most don’t but I do. And since I’ve been seeing vlogs of the author and her life so much, I knew many people she mentioned, and this acknowledgement was so lovely. Her talking about her friend Mark and boyfriend Alfie was heart-warming :’)

16 thoughts on “Girl Online Going Solo || The ending I desperately needed

  1. I haven’t read any of the Girl Online books, mainly because of all the stuff that was said about it right after it was initially published (ghost written, taking credit for other people’s work etc). What kind of books would you say that they are, like in a sentence or two? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s the fiction part then haha. But didn’t Zoella start as just a blogger? It’s been a couple of years since I was reading and watching everything she posted but I think I remember that… Sounds like the main character is based on her but the story takes a different direction from what her life did, if you know what I mean 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

