Book Reviews

The Sun Is Also a Star || diversity + insta-love + some reality

the sun is also a star.jpgTitle: The Sun Is Also a Star

Author: Nicola Yoon

Genre: YA contemporary

Status: Standalone

Goodreads || Amazon IN || Amazon US || Amazon UK || book depository || B&N ||

Synopsis:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

my-review

 

Before I went into this, I had already read a lot of reviews and had a general idea of what it was going to be. The biggest problem most readers had was the insta-love and how it was all in one day. 

What I liked:

  • The diversity. Both the main characters were from different minority races. We get to know a bit about their cultures and conditions back in the country their family is from.
  • Immigration information. Before this book I never really knew about immigrants in America and what they went through and how they rise up (or don’t). This answered quite a few of my questions on that and I like that the situations were portrayed and explained.
  • A background of every character they met. There’s a short history of that stranger or a story, explaining why they acted so and what they will go on to do in the future. I really liked this idea. It’s to show that we affect every person we meet by our actions and it goes on to change their life.
  • The main characters being passionate. Daniel wants to be a poet and Natasha is very passionate about physics and theories and science. It was entertaining to read them telling the other about their field.

 

What I disliked:

  • Yes, the insta-love. As a person, I don’t get love in one day. I don’t even believe in love in a month. The couple has to know each other. There’s only so much information exchange in a day! Sure, the one-day thing was required for the plot but.. insta-love. No thanks.
  • Daniel about love. It’s even quoted in the book about Daniel knowing that he will fall in love with her the moment he met her. I mean, really?! I just can’t. No.
  • Everything was so coincidental. A little too much, to be honest. That much of coincidence and falling-into-place in a DAY, I can’t accept.

 

Overall, it was a good enough book, and I did like reading it. Since I already knew about the insta-love and was ready for it, that didn’t bother me too much. Daniel’s idealisms about love put me off in a few places. And as usual, the book had to end when they finally have a chance and might take it. Like almost every other YA book, it doesn’t show any glimpse of them being a couple or if it’ll really work. *sigh*

three-and-a-half-stars

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Sun Is Also a Star || diversity + insta-love + some reality

  1. Great review! I have to admit the title would grab my attention. The instant love would put me off too though, and especially the fact that it didn’t really talk about much of their future together in the end. But at least the story didn’t seem to be too predictable to you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

