January.jpg

Hey y’all! As promised, here is my January bullet journal flip through. This year, I shifted over to a new notebook which I reviewed here, if you want to know more about it.

If you are new to bullet journalling, I recommend watching this video by the creator of the system and this post for a very broad explanation (my favourite line from the post is bullet journal is like a potato). In short, if you want to know in a minute; it’s a system which is part-planner and part-journal. Unlike planners, it’s very flexible, modifiable to every person’s different need and can be simultaneously a creative outlet. It’s very useful and I highly recommend it for everyone. I know that every day new people find out about the system and start using it enthusiastically. There are tribes, hashtags etc etc online for it. You have to just look.

Now, onto the flip-through. Since it’s a new book, allow me to take you through the yearly spreads and pages first and I’ll explain anything required.

IMG_20170130_200254.jpg

There is a key to every bullet journal and it is very flexible. If you keep a bullet journal, you can use whichever key you want. It’s always recommended to note down the key in the beginning in case you are confused. It will also be helpful for when you open this later to find something and want to understand the symbols you’ve used.

IMG_20170130_200323.jpg

Even though I expected the journal to last five to six months in the beginning (that’s the duration my old notebook lasted), I do a lot of advance planning and therefore wrote down the whole year’s calendar. Now, though, I expect my bullet journal to last only 3 months because I’m using a lot of pages. Then, next, there’s my index, for which I’ve left two pages.

Then there’s a the future log, for long term planning. If you see in the March section, I’ve made a note next to it with a number in a box. That number 48 is the page number where the note is written. It isn’t an event but it would be important in that month so I used the calendex method to write a note.

The brain dump is a list of tasks which don’t have an exact deadline. Therefore, when you’re bored or have some free time, you can do these. I think it’s an excellent idea—it drives you to be more productive.

If you see, I’ve striken the exercise goal. It’s because my physical health has been down lately and I don’t think I’ll be able to exercise properly. Therefore I decided that I’ll take my own time and exercise.

I love making front pages for every month, and I tried a simple black-and-white this time. I like how it turned out.

In the monthly page, which I’ve kept almost the same, I’ve tried to make it more colourful after looking at a YouTuber’s spreads. It’s not quite there yet, but I like it.

This is my most favourite spread, by far, mostly because the headings came out pretty. This is also my first time doing gratitude log, and I like it! It makes me feel better, appreciate things, be content and happy. I kept only one page for the gratitude log as I knew I wouldn’t do it every day and stick to schedule.

I kept my “reading” section strictly for reviews and challenges. I love my “resolution action steps” though. It’s made me follow my resolutions (well, not all, but I’m working on it).

Onto my first weekly spread. I managed to use the empty space on the lower left hand side for quotes in most of the spreads. I had hesitations about that space, but I like it now. I also changed up the weekly layout from what I used to use in the previous notebook. I added This week’s goals instead of normal tasks. I think there’s a difference between goals and tasks, and having a set goal works better for me.

I did my Design Your Destiny sheets in between in my bullet journal. This is the first spread of week 1 worksheets. I’m not sharing all of them because they’ll be boring for you, and it’s quite a few pages, too.

10

I’m really sorry for any blurry images, I honestly didn’t realise until it’s blown up in this post. But then there’s nothing to read, so, it’s fine? *sigh*

Also, if you see in the next picture, I made a mistake with the day. Honestly, I’ve made so many mistakes in this notebook right from the beginning. But unlike before when I would have become really irritated and ripped off the page and started anew, I’ve been keeping my calm and simply working with/around the mistakes. It happens.

Here you see the end of Design you destiny week 3 and some book review notes.

I did some research on SEO (Search Engine Optimisation) so wrote down facts, questions and anything I further want to know as notes. There are many other websites on SEO which explain better, but let me know if you want me to do a post on what I know yet.

I marked this page with washi tape instead of a tab to make it look pretty, and also because I use tabs for monthly spreads and didn’t want to get confused. Putting washi tape in the edge makes it easy to find.

The “things to pack” list was for when I was leaving to my grandparents’ (I feel like I’ve mentioned it waay too many times in my blog). On the days there, I didn’t bullet journal as there weren’t set plans or things to do.

I do miss having a proper journal and therefore journal sometimes in my BuJo itself, as you might have seen. And that’s it for January! I’ll post a february one next month. I am determined to not let my bullet journal posts slide, like I did that last months of 2016. I am feeling so awkward today and it has seeped into this post. Sorry. Moving on. I shall see you in a couple days. When, hopefully, I’m not awkward anymore.

Do you bullet journal? Or do you use a planner? Do you journal normally? Are you a planner, first of all? If not, do you wish you could plan because your life is messy and unorganised? Or maybe, you’re one of those people who just have it all together naturally. Congratulations, then. Also, are you keeping up with your resolutions? I hope so, because we’re only a month in! Or have you striken off any goals which you know you wont be able to complete, like me?

 

 

 

