imperfect chem.jpgTitle: Imperfect Chemistry

Author: Mary Frame

Genre: NA contemporary

Status: Standalone

Goodreads


Synopsis:

“Perfectly imperfect characters and situations make Frame’s debut novel sparkle…there’s a very real sense of character growth, brought to life by an evolving narrative style that parallels Lucy’s metamorphosis. The blend of humor and heart makes for a thoughtful, highly entertaining read.” –Publishers Weekly Lucy London puts the word genius to shame. Having obtained her PhD in microbiology by the age of twenty, she’s amassed a wealth of knowledge, but one subject still eludes her-people. The pendulum of passions experienced by those around her confuses and intrigues her, so when she’s offered a grant to study emotion as a pathogen, she jumps on the opportunity. Enter Jensen Walker, Lucy’s neighbor and the one person she finds appealing. Jensen’s life is the stuff of campus legend, messy, emotional, and complicated. Basically, the perfect starting point for Lucy’s study. When her tenaciousness wears him down and he consents to help her, sparks fly. To her surprise, Lucy finds herself battling with her own emotions, as foreign as they are intense. With the clock ticking on her deadline, Lucy must decide what’s more important: analyzing her passions…or giving in to them?

my-review-lightuptheshiningnightstars

I loved this book! It was so quirky, cute and adorable. I read this in one sitting straight.

Talking about the characters:

  • Lucy London is a genius, and right from her childhood she’s been different. She’s a scientist through and through. She doesn’t really have a vision on what she’s going to do in life, she just keeps studying and doing research. She’s been studying in the current university since she was 13 and is the resident genius. Often viewed as a prude since she covers up skin a lot, she actually doesn’t give two hoots about nudity or anything. She’s just so clinical and factual about everything and speaks her mind and says the truth always. I LOVED her character. Completely and whole-heartedly. I really want to read another book with such a character. She also doesn’t experience much emotions and tends to be detached from social activity, she doesn’t know how she comes off on others either. Watching her deal with emotions was so very entertaining and fun.
  • Jensen Walker is an enigma. He has a reputation, but is actually the total opposite. He’s got major issues with his family and just wants to follow his dreams. He was so adorable, I couldn’t take it.

The Romance ❤

  • The start of Jensen and Lucy’s friendship, if you can call it that, was rocky. But that was because Lucy has a way of being totally unashamed about anything and Jensen was just so taken aback by everything. It was adorable. Sigh.
  • THEM ADMITTING THEY LIKED EACH OTHER AND ALL OF THAT OMG MY HEART. I just—can’t. I can’t.
  • Them together ❤
  • My heart was basically expanding until I thought it would burst because I LOVED THIS ROMANCE AND I WILL GO DOWN WITH IT.
  • Plus, couldn’t hurt that I loved Lucy so much and Jensen was perfect for her.
  • AW THESE TWO ❤ ❤

I know I didn’t make much sense here but I just can’t put it into specific points in coherent sentences, okay? Okay?! (sighs clutching my heart)

The book, overall?

It was hilarious (made me bark out laughing so much), fun, entertaining, heart-expanding, adorable, cute, some places hot too (it is NA after all). I loved it. Go read it, you!

five-stars

 

