Book Reviews

Crooked Kingdom || MA SQUAD BABIES COME HEA + I adore Kaz

crooked kingdom.jpgTitle: Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Genre: YA fantasy

Status: Book 2 of Six of Crows

Goodreads || Amazon IN || Amazon US || Amazon UK || book depository || B&N ||

Synopsis:

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

my-review-lightuptheshiningnightstars

 

NOTE: Contains spoilers from Six of Crows, so beware. Also has some cursing.

Despite having got the book a while back, I couldn’t read it until now because #life. I was so glad to dive back into the Grisha world and see my darlings again.

  • This book has a LOT of schemes, failures, plan Bs and Kaz trying his best to seem as if he doesn’t care but also taking care of everyone and keeping ’em all alive. Now, this is so hard. Starting off with getting Inej back safe and sound, one thing leads to five others and the amount of players thrown in made ME feel overwhelmed at times.
  • Kaz also thought about everyone’s end goals, what each of them wanted and worked towards it too. BASICALLY KAZ IS A SWEET LITTLE DOUGHNUT COVERED IN BLACK FOOD COLOURING TO THROW EVERYONE OFF.
  • Inej was badass as ever but there was a specific enemy against her who, at a certain point, looked to be better than her and I’m like NO.
  • Nina and her love for food was so awesome, I loved it.

“You’re better than waffles, Matthias Helvar.”

“Let’s not say things we don’t mean, my love.”

  • Jesper and Nina’s flirting was so entertaining. They just kept torturing Wylan and Matthias and I loved it.

He (Matthias) sometimes suspected they could forgo all of Kaz’s planning and simply let Jesper and Nina flirt the entirety of Ketterdam into submission.

  • There was a point of sadness and despair and it was something you cannot undo with further action or change, and it hurt. I’ll be honest, the scene could have been written differently to make more impact, because I didn’t feel all that sad because of the scene. I was sad because of the future and how it all changed.

After all their mad escapes and close calls, he’d (Jesper) started to believe the six of them were somehow charmed, that his guns, Kaz’s brains, Nina’s wit, Inej’s talent, Wylan’s ingenuity and Matthias’s strength had made them somehow untouchable.

  • We all were looking forward to Kaz and Inej ending up together, but I’m sort of disappointed. I didn’t get enough of them! I just have to make do with whatever I get *sigh*

Nina glanced from Inej to Kaz and saw they both wore the same expression. Nina knew that look. It came after a shipwreck, when the tide moved against you and the sky had gone dark. It was the first sight of land, the hope of shelter and even salvation that might await you on a distant shore.

  • Pekka Rollins finally had his shit handed to him. Hell yes.

In the end, the plot was amazing and all the romances (except Inej and Kaz *sniff*) were good. I enjoyed it a lot, but it could have been better, maybe? The book didn’t grip me and not let me go until the last page. I could easily not read it for a few days, so there’s that. I’m just not entirely satisfied..

four-stars

Her heart was a river that carried her to the sea.

2 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom || MA SQUAD BABIES COME HEA + I adore Kaz

Leave a Reply

