Book talk

My “read 50 books released this year” challenge

healthbenefits-oforanges

Hey everyone!

So, a few months into last year, I realised that I was reading a significant number of books released just that year. This was mostly because I kept track of the books releasing and which I wanted to read. I even put them up on sticky notes in a ladder type of thing on my wall! As I read the books, I removed the sticky notes and the gaps would make me proud, lol.

Therefore, sometime in, I decided to make this a side-goal/challenge of mine. To read 50 books that were released in the same year. This also helped in keeping up, being a book blogger and all.

Today, I will be listing all the books under this challenge, and how much I rated them! I’ll also be linking my reviews, if I’ve published them yet.

*All the title links lead to Goodreads pages

  1. Aced by K. Bromberg ★✩✩✩✩ (review)
  2. Never Never part 3 by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher ★★★✩✩
  3. Stars Above by Marissa Meyer ★★★✩✩
  4. Submerging by C.S. Johnson ★★★★✩ (review)
  5. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare ★★★★★
  6. Beauty’s curse by C.S. Johnson ★★★★✩ (review)
  7. Girl Against The Universe by Paula Stokes ★★★★★ (review)
  8. Rebel of the sands by Alwyn Hamilton ★★★★✩
  9. Remembering by C.S. Johnson ★★✩✩✩ (review)
  10. Lady Renegades by Rachel Hawkins ★★★★✩ (review)
  11. The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead ★★✩✩✩ (review)
  12. Tell me three things by Julie Buxbaum ★★★★★ (review)
  13. Too late by Colleen Hoover ★★✩✩✩ (review)
  14. Chasing Eva by Camellia Hart ★★★✩✩ (review)
  15. In real life by Jessica Love ★★★★✩ (review)
  16. The raven king by Maggie Steifvater ★★★★✩
  17. Cometh the hour by Jeffrey Archer ★★★★✩
  18. Because I love you by Tori Rigby ★★✩✩✩ (review)
  19. Shuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein ★★★★✩ (review)
  20. The Roommate by Carla Krae ★★✩✩✩ (review)
  21. Smut by Karina Halle ★★★★✩ (review)
  22. The Crown by Keira Cass ★★★★✩ (review)
  23. The midnight society by Rhonda Sermon ★★★✩✩ (review)
  24. Endangered by Dani Hoots ★★★★✩ (review)
  25. The unexpected everything by Morgan Matson ★★★★✩
  26. A court of mist and fury by Sarah J. Maas ★★★★★
  27. If we were a movie by Kelly Oram (review) ★★★★✩
  28. Summer of Irreverence – The rock star by Cathrine Goldstein ★★★✩✩ (review)
  29. The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan ★★★★✩
  30. My wolf and me by India R. Adams ★★★✩✩ (review)
  31. Suffer love by Ashley Herring Blake ★★★★★ (review)
  32. Anomalies by Sadie Turner and Colette Freedman ★★★✩✩ (review)
  33. Cleat Chaser by Celia Aaron and Sloane Howell ★★★★✩
  34. In the after by Elisa Dane ★★★✩✩ (review)
  35. Painting Sky by Rita Branches ★★✩✩✩ (review)
  36. Under a million stars by Rita Branches ★★✩✩✩ (review)
  37. P.S. I like you by Kasie West ★★★★✩ (review)
  38. It ends with us by Colleen Hoover ★★★★★ (review)
  39. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi ★★★★✩ (review)
  40. Swear on this life by Renee Carlino ★★★★★ (review)
  41. Empire of storms by Sarah J. Maas  ★★★★★  (review)
  42. Harry Potter and The Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling ★★★✩✩
  43. Marry Your Billionare by C.J. Anaya ★★★✩✩ (review)
  44. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand ★★★★★ (review)
  45. The Rose and The Dagger by Renee Ahdieh ★★★✩✩ (review)
  46. Hunter by Sarai Henderson ★★✩✩✩ (review)
  47. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo ★★★★✩ 
  48. Lessons in gravity by Jessica Peterson ★★✩✩✩
  49. Holding up the universe by Jennifer Niven ★★★★✩ 
  50. Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland ★★★★✩ (review)
  51. When We Collided by Emery Lord ★★★✩✩
  52. The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon ★★★★✩
  53. Dreamology by Lucy Keating ★★★★✩
  54. What light by Jay Asher ★★★★✩
  55. Girl Online Going Solo by Zoe Sugg ★★★★✩
  56. The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout ★★★★✩
  57. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken ★★★★✩

(As you can see, I surpassed the self-challenge)

I did this thing, after reading about it somewhere, where you write the book you read in a small piece of paper, fold it into a chi and put it in a box kept for this. The initial goal was that you put in the names of all the books you read in a certain year and open it up at the end of the year and see. I did it for a while, then I got bored and also guilty about the wastage of paper. So I stopped that and just made a list in a notebook. If you’re wondering, I now use those chits as decoration for bookstagram photos and such 😛

Every time I finished a book and would mark it in Goodreads, I would also check the date of publishing and if it’s 2016, I would write it down in my list. This way, I have the whole thing compiled and am easily able to copy it onto to this blog post. I loved doing this, and I think I will do it for this year too.

Do you have a personal challenge like this? Do you know how many books, released this year, you’ve read? What do you think about setting a similar challenge for yourself and joining me this year?

24 thoughts on “My “read 50 books released this year” challenge

  1. Fantastic goal! There’s often so much coming out it’s hard to keep up with. My own goal would just be to read a larger assortment of books. 2016 I read more than I had for awhile, so this year, whilst keeping it up, I’m going to try and dabble in genres I might not have usually. Great work last year, hopefully 2017 will bring you even more success! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on achieving this goal! That’s such a good idea to read books released in the year – I never normally know when mine are released, or how long they’re been out for. I just go based on recommendations! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a great challenge! Congrats for completing it, what a great achievement!! I’m a bookworm myself too so it’s great to see all these book titles that i can hopefully read in the near future ! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

