General

2017 Beat the Backlist

Hello hello hello!

There are quite a few interesting challenges this year, and most of them have been announced just in time for the new year that all my planning is not adequate?! I can’t also NOT do these just because I’ve already planned a lot of stuff (i.e. blog posts and bullet journal spreads). Anyway, this post is about me signing up for the Beat the Backlist challenge! It is hosted by NovelKnight (whose blog I found because of this challenge and I loved it immediately).

beat the blacklist.png

The Beat the Backlist Challenge is focused on knocking off titles that have been on your TBR for a while, or even ones that get pushed aside for new releases. Over the years, and especially this one, we’ve noticed that new releases are getting more and more attention while our TBRs continue to grow. While we LOVE new releases, we also want to show some of those older titles love too.

This challenge doesn’t have levels or a set number of books you need to read.

YOU set your own reading goal. YOU pick the books. YOU read at your own pace.

There are going to be twitter chats, there’s an Instagram challenge for every month, there’s a Hogwarts house cup challenge (which I’m not joining in how much ever I want to because #overwhelmedwithchallenges). This challenge looks to be really thought out and I love how most of it is neatly explained in one blog post (kudos to NovelKnight!). Neat and clean explanations make me happy. Not to mention all the planning. #planninglove

(I should make a spread in my bullet journal for all the challenges etc) (will I remember to and keep up?) (hopefully)

So! I’m keeping my TBR simple for now.

  1. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. I seriously need to get to this.
  2. The Summer I turned Pretty by Jenny Han. This has been on my TBR for SO LONG.
  3. Heartless by Marissa Meyer. I’ve had this for months, honestly.
  4. Frostfire by Amanda Hocking. I’ve read her Trylle trilogy and want to give this a go too.
  5. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. I’ve started it and am more than halfway through but I need to FINISH IT.
  6. The Rest of us just live here by Patrick Ness. Do I even have to say why I must read this?
  7. This Savage Song by VictoriaSchwab. Again, do I?
  8. The thousandth floor by Katharine McGee. A lot of bloggers I follow have been raving about it.
  9. Seven Days of You by Cacilia Vinesse. It sounds nice 😛
  10. Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur. It’s been well reputed and loved and recommended to me. Plus, the author is Indian. So yeah.

This is my TBR for now. If I finish it, I’ll make another maybe. I’m excited to do this challenge!

Are you participating in any reading challenges? Have you read any of these books? Or are they on your TBR? 

18 thoughts on “2017 Beat the Backlist

  1. I think I may just do the Goodreads challenge but may do this one. Not sure yet. I do think We Were Liars should be your first one. It is awesome, although it is one people either completely love or completely hate.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. oooh, this is such a good challenge idea!! I honestly have SO MANY BACKLIST BOOKS TO READ RIGHT NOW. It’s a bit daunting…buuuut, I know some of them are going to be super good. Eeeep! 😊 There’s just so much to read right?!?
    (I hope you love We Were Liars and The Rest Of Us Just Live Here. ❤ I think they're amazing!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Numbers 2,3 6, and 8 have been on my list for a while. And Jenny Han is on my list but I keep putting her off and OMG you HAVE to read milk and honey! I read her book about two weeks ago, and it was so good! Get the hardcover edition because that has a foreword/bonus info that the paperback edition doesn’t have. I’m trying to look for more Indian authors, but there are so few! Have you read the famous mythology series yet? It’s like everywhere in bookstores in India!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

