Childhood Friends #BirthMonth

Hey everyone! I’m Selfie from The Meandering Course. Check out my blog if you’d like. I mostly post about anything at the top of my head so things are pretty random 😀 A big thank you to Iridescence for letting me post on here for her #BirthMonth series.I love the idea! Oh and Happy Birth Month (is that a thing? it is now) Here’s a memory from when I was six or seven. I hope you like it!


I remember when I was around six or seven years old, I was friends with someone really special. He was someone who taught me things that most people my age already knew.

Both of us were in the same class. I don’t know how exactly we started talking in school. I guess we became close because we were carpool buddies and our mothers used to organize playdates for us ( I actually had a better social life then than I do now).

But whatever it was, I’m glad it happened. Because I have so many memories of us laughing together, playing weird games, I think there was a sleepover too?

I remember that as a primary school student, I had absolutely no idea of the vegetable cauliflower. This one time, at his house, his mother served us a dish which had cauliflower in it. At first when I saw it, I was confused. I had absolutely zero idea of how to eat it or what it tasted like. So I popped one into my mouth, except, I only ate the flower part of it and left the stem untouched. My friend saw me doing this and laughed.

“That’s not how you eat cauliflower!”
“Well then, how do you eat it?”
“Like this”

He then proceeded to pop the entire piece of cauliflower into his mouth, stem and all. I marveled at the fact that he just ate a STEM. Is that even possible?

“Go on, try it” he prodded me.

Hesitantly, I picked up my piece of cauliflower and attempted to eat it whole. At first, I felt a little weird because yeah umm new food that had weird parts. But after a few encouraging remarks from him, I managed to eat it whole.

I was ecstatic. It tasted heavenly. How did I not know about this?! When I went home that day, I demanded to be fed cauliflower.

Till this day, whenever I eat cauliflower or see it in the market, I remember the boy who taught me how to eat it.

I don’t know where he is now. We lost contact when he moved to London. Being the kid I was, I promptly made new friends and had playdates with other children. But I still wonder what became of him. I guess I’ll never know. But what I do know is that I’ll always have the memories of us screaming while cycling down the road, him teaching me how to make a U-turn on a cycle, playing games we made up, arguing while we were dropped to school and of course, the memory of him introducing cauliflower to me.

I hope life turned out well for him. I wish I could meet him one day and see how he’s changed and if he still remembers me. I hope he does, because I never forgot him.


 

Love,

Selfie

6 thoughts on “Childhood Friends #BirthMonth

Leave a Reply

