into the deep.jpgTitle: Into The Deep (Into The Deep #1)

Author: Samantha Young

Genre: NA romance

Synopsis:

Live young. Live hard. Love deep.

Charley Redford was just an ordinary girl until Jake Caplin moved to her small town in Indiana and convinced her she was extraordinary. Almost from day one Jake pulled Charley into the deep and promised he was right there with her. But when a tragic incident darkened Jake’s life he waded out into the shallows and left Charley behind.

Almost four years later Charley thinks she’s moved on. That is until she takes a study year abroad in Edinburgh and bumps into none other than Jake Caplin at a party with his new girlfriend. The bad-boy-turned-good attempts to convince Charley to forgive him, and as her best friend starts spending time with Jake’s, Charley calls a truce, only to find herself tumbling back into a friendship with him.

As they grow closer, the spark between them flares and begins playing havoc with their lives and relationships. When jealousy and longing rear their destructive heads, Charley and Jake struggle to come to grips with what they mean to one another.

And even if they work it out, there is no guarantee Charley will ever trust Jake to lead her back into the deep…

my-review

It’s been a while since I read a romance books and while surfing through I found this. I’ve read one book by the author which I really liked (On Dublin Street) and so gave this a go. I wasn’t disappointed.

the plot

  • Charley and her best friend have settled in at Edinburgh awaiting a good year in the university. Coincidentally (or maybe not so), Charley’s first love and the boy who broke her heart is also there, with his new girlfriend.
  • The story follows two timelines with dates mentioned at the beginning of every chapter, one of the present with Charley and Jake meeting again after three and a half years. The second follows the same couple starting from when they first met at sixteen.
  • The book is told from Charley’s POV throughout.

the characters

  • Charley Redford is a smart-ass, good daughter and sister and one really cool girl. I could easily relate to her, her feelings and decisions. She didn’t make stupid decisions, she just was in love and still hasn’t recovered from the first heartbreak. The young Charley was so lively and happy. I could feel the difference in the two versions with the “grown up”and serious vibe, not to mention the sadness. I also easily merged with Charley’s character, I felt and thought everything she did. Reason might be that our personalities are a lot similar.
  • Young Jake is boyfriend goals. Okay, maybe nothing compared to some other book boyfriends but he was just so perfect. He loved his family, was hot, a gentleman and overall amazing. I didn’t like the older Jake, he just made me irritated with his decisions and wants. He unintentionally hurt Charley so much and kept hurting her unintentionally.
  • Claudia, Charley’s best friend, is the perfect best friend. She had her own problems, and unlike in so many other books where the best friend has her life set, Claudia too went through a lot with Charley. Claudia’s story could have been a separate one too, but the fact that she had her own story made the story more real.
  • Charley’s family had the right dynamic. They weren’t totally excluded just because she was in a different country. I loved reading parts with her family in them.

the ROMANCE

  • Charley and Jake’s beginning at sixteen was the cutest ever. Their relationship was perfect and I loved loved it.
  • In the present timeline, though, I am neutral on. In the end, they’re together and happy but the whole journey was a lot of uneasiness and sadness mixed together. I constantly wondered this is going to end bad, isn’t it? Even with a “happy ending”. 

OVERALL

I really liked the story and the romance. Half through the book I realised that the characters were a lot like my ex-boyfriend and I. I might have felt it all a bit more because of that.

I totally recommend this if you like recovery from hard heartbreak, a cute-then-burning love, and love stories in colleges/universities.

There is a sequel about the same characters. Review coming soon.

4

Add to Goodreads

 

 

