Blogging

Things I appreciate as a blog reader

things I appreciate.jpg

Hey everyone!

We all start our blogs like wading into a whole new world with invisible people, where there are only words. And at some point at least, we are all confused and dumbfounded. I remember how in my first few months of blogging, this was me: someone help, people tell me if what I’m doing is right! Are you happy! Sure, after that I found my rhythm and got some confidence to not actively ask every post whether you liked what I’d written etc. I wrote what I knew, and I left it at that.

Yet, if you’re a newbie and are almost as lost as I was, here are some things that I appreciate as a blog reader, and I others might too.

1. An ‘about me’ page

I don’t know how many times in my posts on blogging I’ve mentioned this, but this a very important thing and I will promote it to death. Have an about me page on your blog, and preferably on the main menu, so I can read about you. It is always the first thing I look for when I find new blogs, and most times I read that before the actual posts. If there is no about me page, I get disappointed and will check out posts, but mostly wouldn’t bother following. And P.S., mention your favourite food too if you want. I just want some info about you. 

2. Mention what your blog is about

This can come either under the ‘about me’ page or in a separate place, but I would be grateful if it was mentioned.

For book-themed blogs and blogs whose theme is in their title, it isn’t required, but for blogs which have a variety of posts or don’t stick to a theme, this would be suggested. I, myself, struggled in the beginning as to informing my readers what all I blog on. Someone may follow me for reviews and unknowingly also receive the other stuff, which they might not like. Therefore, I’ve had a static front page ever since saying what all you can expect in my blog.

2. Comment replies

We all comment because we love your posts or want to start a discussion, and just responding to them would make a huge difference, in my opinion. Even if it is a simple thank you, there is no harm in responding. Personally, I tend to not like bloggers who ignore comments. Here’s my thought. Reply me, maybe?*

*see what I did there?

3. Social media buttons in the sidebar

I want to stalk you, I want to have you all over my feed everywhere! But, where are you?

I personally hate being in that condition of having to search for bloggers in social media. Most blogs which are a few months old usually catch on and have social media links in easily accessible areas. If you haven’t, I suggest you do! Just add links or icons to your other profiles, and you’re done!

4. Highlighted points

As much as I love reading blog posts, there are too many to read and I don’t have enough time. I love it when bloggers highlight points in their posts, especially discussion posts or long ones, so I can either skim or read in-depth too. I think I’ve mentioned this once before, but it helps a lot. Dividing a post into sections or under points works too. Sometimes, especially when there’s too much description or explanation in everything, I tend to read random lines along the post and just skim through. I’m not satisfied, but I don’t have the time either. For people like me, highlighting or making the points bold makes a lot of difference.


And that’s about it! To most of you, this would be old news, but I thought I’d put it out there to help anyone who is new. Note: all of this is from my point of view, and I can’t talk for everyone.

What do you appreciate as a blog reader? Do you agree/disagree with any of my points? Let me know in the comments below!

17 thoughts on “Things I appreciate as a blog reader

      1. Thanks so much!

        I do book reviews and I’m trying to figure out how to get all of my 700+ reviews added to my blog without flooding all of my followers pages. Any ideas? I’ve been adding a handful a day because I want to get them all on my page, but I don’t want to chase off my few followers. What do you think would be the best way to approach it?

        Any advice would be great.

        Thanks again,
        Candace

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow 700+ reviews? How did that many accumulate?
        You could publish all the articles and label them as private instead of public and publish many at a time. Then a week later make them public. That way the publication date would stay and the followers won’t get it in their feed then as new posts.
        I’m not really sure about this but just try it maybe?

        Liked by 1 person

  1. urgh the comments one is literally me. i used to reply to every single comment i got but now i just feel stressed when i think about so i approve them but don’t reply unless i feel up to it later… i suck

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Agree with all your points. Especially the about me page and replying. =)
    Though i won’t mind as much if points were highlighted but i do see them make an easier difference for when i skim.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awesome post! I completely agree with everything you said here. I do all of these things on my blog and it really does make a difference. Commenting is so important. I can’t stand when I take the time to comment and get a like or nothing at all. For me, blogging is about interaction with people. I also have all of my social media and follow buttons in my sidebar. I’m the same way about wanting to follow someone other places if I like their blog and I don’t want to have to dig around for it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

