my lady jane.jpgTitle: My Lady Jane

Authors: Cynthis Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows

Genre: Historical Fiction

Synopsis:

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane is about to become the Queen of England.

let-me-rave

There were so many incredible elements.. where do I even start?

1. Lady Ah-mazing Jane Grey

  • She devours books like we would devour our favourite food dish. Literally. She’s the ultimate reader and book lover.

“Armies aren’t very good about carrying libraries with them. I can’t imagine why. We’d fight so much less if everyone would just sit down and read.

  • She has how book lovers would rule the world down to a pat.
  • She’s spirited, brave and has a smart-mouth.
  • I wish I had her memory because she remembers every single fact that she’s ever read and also from which book it was. She has so much knowledge in her head from all her reading. If I ever had the patience to read information volumes instead of only fiction, I might have a chance of being so knowledgeable.
  • When she’s betrothed to Gifford Dudley, she’s most worried about whether he’s inherited the awful Dudley nose from his father. #Priorities, she got them sorted out.

2. E∂ians

  • A type of magical creatures who can transform back and forth between an animal form of theirs and human form.
  • I’ve read so many books with transformation into animal forms but the concept in the 1500s is something new and exciting, at least for me.
  • Despite the previous king being an E∂ian himself, he banished others like him and any found were burned at a stake.
  • Dangerous times, a magical species hunted, rebellion, and a teenage king now on the throne. 

3. Also, that teenage king is dying

  • Edward, the King of England, 17 years old, has “the Affliction” which makes him cough up blood and cause his body to deteriorate slowly.
  • Since there are no other living male heirs, he revises the royal succession line and names Jane as Queen of England and the throne to go to her rightful heirs.

4. A handsome steed

  • Gifford “G” Dudley is a horse.
  • He writes poetry.
  • He does NOT, in fact, have the dreadful Dudley nose.
  • He’s also very handsome in human form.
  • He’s perfect, especially for Jane. You know what that means? He’s perfect for us (read: me) too as Jane is basically us (again, read: me).
  • Can you see why I’m in love with his character?

5. The narration swag

  • These three fabulous authors together have made reading history so fun. They also have an amazing amount of swag.
  • We get a prologue, epilogue and also a midlogue in between. A couple lines from the prologue struck with me, which was a sign of how awesome this book is going to be with the writing style.

“We’ve tweaked minor details. We’eve completely rearranged major details.”

  • The story is divided in two parts, and the comments show how it is:

    Part One (In which we revise a bit of history)

    Part Two (In which we throw history out the window)

  • I loved the way the book started. I loved the Midlogue. I loved the whole narration and the small comments in the middle. Sometimes, there were phrases similar to instances that came after the time and they even commented on that in brackets! Since the whole novel was written in third person POV, like it was actually them sitting in front of us and narrating like story-tellers, it was so fun reading it.

6. The cutie cute cutesy romances

  • The couples were just so cute and in the end I was all awww my little loving munchkins! If I had this as a paperback/hardback, I would totally hug it tight.
  • Since Jane is the highlight, obviously we see more of Jane and G and they were just perfect together. They fought, butted heads, had chemistry, and were the perfect fit. (I might have realised how the perfect guy for me would be like)

Overall.png

GO READ IT, YOU! 

In the beginning it took a while for me to get into it as I was in a mild slump and busy with college, but once I got into it, I couldn’t leave it.

five-stars

This needs to be on your Goodreads

