Book Reviews

Out of the shallows || twisted improvisations for an unnecessary sequel

the book 2

out of the shallows.jpgTitle: Out of the shallows (Into the deep #2)

Author: Samantha Young

Genre: NA romance

Synopsis:

LIVE YOUNG. LIVE HARD. LOVE DEEP.
Charley and Jake’s story concludes in Out of the Shallows…

Somehow, after everything they’ve been through, Jake Caplin and Charley Redford made their way back to one another. But finding each other and staying together are two completely different things.

When Charley’s world is flipped upside down, she begins to question the choices and decisions she’s made since her arrival in Edinburgh, and in an effort to grip onto what she holds most dear she believes she must sacrifice her love for Jake.

Returning to the States for her senior year, Charley struggles to find peace and happiness. While everyone else seems to be finding themselves in college, Charley is terrified that, along with almost everything else that’s important to her, she’s lost herself.

While friends and family deal with their own tumultuous lives, there is one person resolved to uncover the reason behind Charley’s sudden defection and unhappiness. Refusing to give up without a fight, Jake believes he is the only one who can truly understand what Charley is going through, and this time he’s determined to prove he’s there for her no matter what obstacles are thrown in their way.

However, as Charley strives to make it through the biggest personal journey of her life thus far, there is no guarantee that the woman she is becoming will still need Jake as much as the girl she once was did…

my review

Read my review of the first book here.

I wondered why there would be a sequel and what issue would be addressed here. Sure, there was one detail that kept being referred to but wasn’t cleared in the first book. I thought maybe that was a slightly major thing that would be the highlight in this book, but it wasn’t. It was just a tiny thing.

This book proves that sometimes, a really good book is better off without a sequel.

the plot

  • Charley and Jake are broken up, again. This time, it was Charley who broke Jake’s heart.
  • The story follows Charley trying to mend things with her family, avoid and move on from Jake (and him trying to get back with her), and finding herself again.
  • The parallel timeline way of narration worked well in the first book, but it didn’t in this book. Here, it just annoyed me, especially since there was only a few months gap and all the characters were the same. At times, I got confused as to which timeline I was reading.
  • Another thing that made me unhappy was that we didn’t find out the reason for the break up until three-fourths of the book passed. Especially since it’s from Charley’s POV, it felt like the reason is being dangled just out of our reach but we can’t grasp it because Charley won’t say anything.

the characters

  • I could still relate to Charley, but with her state and always being confused in decisions, I felt slightly annoyed. Also, I expected to start the novel with the characters happy and in love but I open to find this. So yes, you can call me a grumpy cat.
  • I never liked the grown up version of Jake, and that didn’t change. Although, finally, Jake’s parents came slightly into the picture where they were missing in the first book in the present timeline. I only realised this fact when his mom was featured a bit.
  • Claudia is the only one I was completely fine with in this book. That angel.

the ROMANCE

  • I knew that Charley and Jake’s relationship would never be the perfect, all-happy because of the history, guilt and hurt still left. The plot of this book further worsened it. At one point, I wished that they would just move on away from each other.
  • Keeping up with the stage of their relationship in both timelines separately was hard. The tones in both timelines were the same and they seemed to merge a lot. I had to go back and double check which timeline I was reading sometimes.
  • Somehow, they pull through in the end, and I am glad that it ended and does not have another sequel.

OVERALL

I had two major problems with this book which shadowed the nice points:

  • parallel timeline narration, which did not work for this book
  • the existence of this sequel

I really wanted to read this as I wondered what it would be about, and also because I couldn’t leave their story in half with the first book. I think, with a few tweaks, the first book could have been ended with a finality and left it at a good point.

Final verdict? Read the first book and skip this one entirely.

two-stars

Goodreads

Leave a Reply

