Book Reviews

Hunter || um…

hunter.jpgTitle: Hunter

Author: Sarai Henderson

Genre: YA fantasy

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Hunter belongs to the Telepathic Alliance for the Latent or Newly manifested, otherwise known as Talon, a bounty hunter community known for their ruthless tactics. Her latest mission in San Diego was supposed to be a piece of cake, but when the job takes a treacherous and deadly turn, not even her telepathic abilities could have warned her of the dangers lurking around the corner.

There’s only one place for Hunter to go, and that’s straight into the hands of the government and their Psychic Intelligence Team, but even the “normal” world isn’t safe. With each passing hour throwing her deeper into the game of life and death, Hunter must decide who to trust before this mission becomes her last.

let-me-rant

I received a free e-copy of this book from the author in return for an honest review.

I’ll get straight to the point-I didn’t really like this book. It was okay in most parts, but now that I’ve finished reading and look back, I can pick out so many things I disliked.

  • Somehow, in the beginning, I thought Hunter was a guy. I didn’t read the synopsis right before diving into the book and there was no defining statement about it, and a while later it’s a she and I got so confused. My fault, but it shouldn’t be that easy to assume wrongly, right? Also, I thought Hunter was her real name, and therefore that she was a boy. The writing and view point suited more to a boy than a girl anyway.
  • I didn’t like Hunter. Many times, she is just this girl who begs to not be killed and is afraid and doesn’t take charge. She’s been a bounty hunter for three years, yet she acted like a total amateur who does not have any skills. I hated reading those parts especially.
  • All the side characters. Literally, I did not like ANY of them. Many times, side characters make up some in return for the main character being a disaster, but no such luck here.
  • The romance was non-existent until the very last bit where suddenly out of nowhere, she and the guy exchange real names and she carves their initials on a surface later. Can I point out the things that was wrong here, please?
    • There was absolutely no romance and after a while, I started appreciating that and accepted it. The story was totally on the mission and her running for her life etc.
    • I might have got vibes about her and one guy but nothing happened, they didn’t even look at each other with romantic affection so I discarded that.
    • In the middle of a huge scene, they suddenly have a moment (they don’t kiss) and suddenly, it’s as if he’s always been her lover. This is where I was all confused and scrunched up my face.
    • In the end, there’s “S+J” and all I can say is what??? From where??
  • Everyone is an enemy. While I might like that as a plot normally, not when a third party steps in from nowhere and ends all of it like nothing.

Overall, no, I didn’t like it. I wasn’t sure when I was offered the copy whether this would be my cup of tea, but I was willing to give it a try. When I went over to Goodreads to mark it read, I saw that most reviews were 5/4 stars. I totally don’t get why. It’s not a whole new genre that I hate/never read, but I disliked it. I’m giving it a two because for a lot of parts, it was kinda okay. But all-in-all, not a book I would want to pick up later.

two-stars

Goodreads

One thought on “Hunter || um…

Leave a Reply

