Book Reviews

It Ends With Us || when I got so sucked in, I didn’t notice my life pass by

the book 2

it ends with us.jpgTitle: It Ends With Us

Author: Colleen Hoover

Genre: NA contemporary romance

Synopsis:

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

my review

I read this book as part of the #ReadThemAllThon for the soul badge.

fuschia

It wasn’t epic romance as required for the tag but I’m really glad I read the book.

the plot

  • Lily Bloom meets Ryle Kincaid on a rooftop and they share depressing woes. Six months later they meet again and begin to have a relationship.
  • We also get to know about Lily story with Atlas, her high school sweetheart.
  • And I can’t say anything more without giving things away.

the characters

  • I liked Lily. She was a perfect female lead with inner-strength, resolve and also the weakness that comes with love. She was completely real with no contradictory characteristics. I could easily merge into her while reading.
  • I’ll admit, I wasn’t enamored with Ryle Kincaid right from the beginning but learned to accept him since Lily was gonna love him.
  • I loved Atlas. From the flashbacks, I could easily connect him and Lily. His personality, past and troubles in life made me feel so much for him.
  • Alyssa Kincaid was one good best friend. When it wasn’t warranted, she didn’t take Ryle’s side even though he’s her brother. We all need friends like her in our lives. I also loved her personality which was so, I quote, alive.
  • What I loved most about this book was that Lily, Ryle and Atlas were all imperfect. They were average humans who made mistakes, had weaknesses and were very real.

 

I’m not gonna talk about the romance because I’ll end up spoiling everything for you.

my feels.jpg

When I read books, I laugh, I cry, I bawl and I squeal. I usually give 5 stars for books which give me bucketloads of feels. But when I was reading this book, I felt it all but couldn’t put it down even to take time and let my emotions out.

There’s no such thing as bad people. We’re all just people who sometimes do bad things.

I started reading it on my way to the cafeteria during break in college and read it every spare second I could find. I did no assignments or studies that day. I don’t remember anything general from that day except this book.

That’s what fifteen minutes can do to a person. It can destroy them. It can save them.

Ever since college began, I was finding it hard to take out time to read. But for this, it wasn’t an option. It Ends With Us got me out of a semi-slump which was made due to college. It made me realise why I started reading so much in the first place—to get immersed completely into another world.

And god, when I realised the connection to the title, it totally made sense and made ma shed a few tears! This book just… ❤

OVERALL

I commend Colleen Hoover on writing such a personal story and writing it perfectly. I highly recommend this book. Although it wasn’t my favourite book by the author (go November 9!), it reaffirmed why she’s my favourite romance author.

5.JPG

 

Add to Goodreads

One thought on “It Ends With Us || when I got so sucked in, I didn’t notice my life pass by

  1. Oh wow, I totally get what you mean. I started reading this book yesterday night and I can’t wait to get home after work so that I can get back to it. It is really ‘unputdownable’. Glad you enjoyed it so much. Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

