Blogging

Disadvantages of being a planner

disadvantages blogging.jpg

In my last post, I covered the advantages of being a planner. In this one, I will be discussing the other side. You might argue that there are no true disadvantages, but I struggle with some.

1. No room of spontaneity

Since I have all my blog posts planned well in advance, I cannot randomly add posts in between as it will disturb my schedule.

For example, if I’ve reached a milestone of followers and I want to do a post, schedule is filled. Or when there’s a sudden collab I want to do and it’s to be posted in a week, I have to remove an already-scheduled post to fit in this new one.  Then I might decide that I don’t want it to be posted so late as the next free spot, which leads to my next point.

2. To change one, whole schedule gets disrupted

I can’t just shift everything to the next consecutive slot because of book tours and dates like that.

Also, suppose I’ve scheduled only book reviews for a while and realise it only later, I would want to change it. This again causes complete change and I spend some time going through all the different posts and how they should be.

 

Other than these two, I haven’t had much noticeable troubles yet. And hopefully, I wouldn’t either because I love planning.

Do you agree with my points? Can you come up with any more? What are your views?

5 thoughts on “Disadvantages of being a planner

  1. The spontaneity one really resonates with me and kind of bleeds into your #2. I have definitely planned out a week and then thought of a post I wanted to do last minute. The silver lining for me is that if I do shift my schedule, I still have those posts I have written for later. Posting reviews of ARCs is the only type of post I feel like I cannot bump due to the promise of a timely review (like you mention in #2).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I have gravitated more towards the planning side of things because I don’t think I could keep up with a consistent posting schedule. Along with the other things to do with the blog like social media, graphics, reading other blogs, etc. Too much and not enough time! So I do plan about 6-10 posts out.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

