Y’all must already be knowing about the story through books and TV show. But alright, I’ll add the intro.

Also, along with writing this post, I talked the same thing in an audio recording because my feelings just sounded better through words. Click here to listen to the audio instead of reading all this.


 

got.jpgTitle: A Game of Thrones

Author: George R.R. Martin

Genre: Epic Fantasy

Synopsis:

Summers span decades. Winter can last a lifetime. And the struggle for the Iron Throne has begun.

As Warden of the north, Lord Eddard Stark counts it a curse when King Robert bestows on him the office of the Hand. His honour weighs him down at court where a true man does what he will, not what he must … and a dead enemy is a thing of beauty.

The old gods have no power in the south, Stark’s family is split and there is treachery at court. Worse, the vengeance-mad heir of the deposed Dragon King has grown to maturity in exile in the Free Cities. He claims the Iron Throne.

my review

I finally finished it!

I hadn’t even planned on reading this series because there are enough fans and the books looked daunting to me. My friend started reading it and wanted to fangirl to me so asked to me to read it too. Since she’s done this favour to me a few times, I complied.

Let me tell you, this book is loong. I read it as an ebook and maybe an audiobook might have been mercy. I took 25 days to complete this!  I got side-tracked a lot and read various other books in between. It didn’t help that my sad friend paused in half and promised to get back but I fear the pause might be indefinite.

There are many characters and although that is required for such a story, I could not keep up with the side characters. The number of Sers and Knights and Lords—gosh! Also, half the people I read about die so I didn’t bother registering much unless they were very recurring characters.

The death toll though! Wow. I’ve seen a photo going around of this book with tabs where the tabs are for deaths in the book. I knew there’ll be so many but still, I was taken aback a bit. The amount of death kept increasing every chapter!

The nudity and such might seem too much for some people but I felt like that defined the world and its ways more.

And, can I just say, I love the Stark saying of “the winter is coming”. That line is said so many times and reminds us that its still only a good time and the bad era hasn’t come upon them yet.

I loved Daenerys. I liked Jon Snow, didn’t crush on him or anything though. I started shipping them three hundred pages in. I couldn’t wait to know if they end up together so much that I googled it. Yep, I did that. I am now already aware of “the song of Ice and Fire”. If you know the story, you know what I mean.

Also, I figured, since I’m reading it I might as well watch the show too. I finished season 1 as of now. I think Emilia Clarke is perfect as Daenerys. Plus, the theme song is amazing. Three episodes in I got the tune and I started humming it all day long. I’m humming it as I write this too, lol. It’s the best ❤

The ending though. Wow. I could contemplate it with the clues littered but still. I need to get me some dragons, yo!

Sooo, that was my “review”. I didn’t intend to review this and I just felt like discussing the book so made a supposed review post. If you’ve stuck with me until now, you’re a precious darling and I’ll let you stroke my dragon once I get one in the future. That’s you’re reward. Aren’t I so generous?

Lol, I’m crazy and my thoughts are all over the place. I’m gonna go now. Tata ba-bye!

Goodreads

 

