anomalies.jpgTitle: Anomalies

Authors: Sadie Turner and Colette Freedman

Genre: YA Dystopia

Status: Standalone (apparently)

Goodreads || Amazon ||


Synopsis:

In the future there is no disease. There is no war. There is no discontent. All citizens are complacent members of the Global Governance. But one summer is about to change everything.

Keeva Tee just turned fifteen. All of her dreams are about to come true. She’s about to make the trip to Monarch Camp to be imprinted with her intended life partner. One day they’ll have perfect kids and a perfect life. But in her happy, carefree life in the Ocean Community, something weighs on her mind. She hears whispers about “anomalies”—citizens who can’t be imprinted. No one knows what happens to them, but they never seem to come back.

When Keeva arrives at Monarch Camp, her worst nightmare becomes a reality—she is an anomaly. After they are imprinted, the people she loves begin to change, and she starts to doubt everything she’s ever believed. What if freedom and individuality have been sacrificed for security? And what if the man who solves all the problems is the very man who’s created them—and what if he isn’t a man at all?

When Keeva finds a warning carved under a bunk bed she begins to understand: Nonconformity will be punished, dissent is not an option, insurgents will be destroyed.

 

my-review

Note: I received a free copy in return for an honest review.

Do you like Matched by Ally CondieIf yes, then read on excitedly. If not, still read on to see if you’ll like this. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, ignore this paragraph.

This book is in first person POV and we experience things through 15 year old Keeva. This is set centuries later when everyone lives in peace *coughs hard* under one Global Convergence.

 

The World
  • There was a big war and so. There were many problems. One day a guy names Sobek steps in with a technology of his creation and now everyone lives in peace because of it and under his rule.
  • Everyone practically preaches him and the technology.
  • At 5 years old all kids are sent to a Monarch Camp where they are paired up with their future partners.
  • At 15, they go back and get imprinted i.e. instantly fall in love (suspicious, right?)
  • Then there are also the Anomalies.
  • There is also an underground rebellion (obviously).
The Plot

 

  • The main storyline is pretty good
  • For most of the book I was waiting for it to happen also I didn’t know what it was. Finally, I just accepted that nothing huge and sudden was going to happen, like an attack or something that throws her into a bunch.
  • I got a very “Matched” vibe from this story. There were a lot of other things but for the first many chapters it was quite similar.
  • Of all the endings they could have done, I don’t understand why the authors chose this and I didn’t like it at all.
  • In the second half, a lot of people just kept throwing wise wisdom at the MC and she basically thought weird of it and ignored. Both ends of the exchanges put me off.

 

The Characters
  • I did not like the MC. She’s kind of dumb, takes blending in very seriously and is NOT someone I would put my hopes on to save the world.
  • Her romantic interest is just okay but I feel like his personality was not completely developed and made into one type of guy. It’s like the authors got confused and added bits of different characters. (I also wouldn’t put him on my list of fictional crushes)
  • The savior/dictator called Sobek is a sadistic ass. He loves tasting fear (literally), is completely evil and does not care about killing and manipulating people. He loves it.
  • Calix is Sobek’s son and protege. Sobek aspires to make Calix power-hungry and evil like him. In interludes we see events of Calix’s life as well. These interludes are in third person POV.
The Romance

 

  • There isn’t much romance in this book other than the MC’s one-sided crush. There’s never a real liking or relationship.
  • Honestly, I’m hoping for Calix and Keeva although there isn’t any indication about them together.
  • If you want a book with hardly any romance, this is for you.
Writing Style

 

  • Pleasant to read and what kept me going in the beginning.
  • You’d argue that I didn’t like MC and its is first person POV so how can I like the writing. But I did.
  • There was a point where I read, “From now on life as you know it will no longer exist” and I just set the book aside. That was the first hurdle when I was reading. Such a cliche line.
Overall

 

A nice enough book. Many times the reason I didn’t stop reading was because it’s dystopian, which is my favourite genre. If you like the genre or you think this is a book you’ll like, go for it! I am excited to see which direction this story will go with the characters. Although, there’s one thing. There doesn’t seem to be a sequel. But the story isn’t complete! I don’t know! Ugh.

3.JPG

What do you think of this book? Have you/would you want to read it? 

 

 

