Book Reviews · General

My Wolf and Me || ARC review + giveaway

My Wolf and Me cover.jpgTitle: The Wolf and Me

Author: India R. Adams

Genre: YA paranormal romance

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Synopsis:

Their love was innocent.
Their friendship was pure.
Their fear was real.
Their danger was true.

When little Marlena is left to care for an abandoned wolf pup, her parents see their irrevocable bond, and this humble family embarks on an adventure trying to care for the needs of a rapidly growing wolf, and the needs of their headstrong daughter. The comical complications of such a venture only darken when Marlena, now a high school student, witnesses her wolf shift… into a young man.

Secrets and the pure hatred from a man out for revenge take Marlena, her family and her wolf on a heartbreaking journey of devastating loss, captivity, and ultimate sacrifices.

This love story will haunt you well after you finally set this book down.

My Review:

Note: an eARC of this book was given to me in exchange for an honest review.

When I read the premise and signed up for this book’s tour, I expected a story somewhat similar to Shiver by Maggie Steifvater. It wasn’t at all the same, but I might have preferred a beginning like Shiver.

Plot: 3/5 stars

The beginning was rocky and I didn’t really get into the story much. Only after half he book did I start to like the plot when the “danger” element appeared. As for the romantic aspect, I wasn’t into it until, again, the danger came in. Everything until that impasse felt like build-up and it was a very long build-up.

Characters: 3/5 stars

I didn’t like the MC. I couldn’t relate to her, she kept acting dumb in certain situations and I just didn’t like her. One thing that really bothered me about Marlene was the way she viewed him as TWO beings– Romy meant the wolf and Sebastian was the boy. She never fused them and didn’t view Sebastian as ONE. We readers can work with “human Sebastian” and “wolf Sebastian” but instead we get “Romy” and “Sebastian” like he is really two people.

As for Romy/Sebastian’s character, it was pretty well formed. He’s nowhere near my book-boyfriend list but he was okay. After Sebastian turned into human, his learning of human ways and confusion and retaining wolf-instincts and feelings was on point.

Although I really liked all the side characters, especially Marlene’s friends Jimmy and Trevor. Mostly Jimmy. I loved the trio’s friendship, how they were a unit and how they were connected to each other.

Writing: 3/5 stars

I don’t usually comment on writing except mentioning the POV style but for this book, writing style made a huge impact on my liking. When the book began, Marlene was only 6 years old and since it was in first person POV, the writing according to her thoughts was appropriate. The feeling of childishness went until the time Romy turned and I didn’t like that the teen thought that way. The writing made me feel as if she was a child until events made her grow up.

Also, the narration of events was like how it would be in a child’s book. “This happened that happened and I felt this” was the trend and I felt like I was reading a child’s or MG book instead of YA. That made it hard for me to like it.

Overall, I didn’t like the first half much and the second half, more like last one-third, was the part that made my rating go up. Otherwise, I would have given a 2/5. Since I started it and I wanted to know how it ends, also because I had this book tour, I kept on reading. I have a feeling that if I had picked it up simply, I might have stopped reading after a few chapters.

Add to Goodreads

Read the first two chapters here.

BUY LINKS

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|iTunes|Kobo

About the author

India R Adams is an author/singer/songwriter who has written YA and NA novels such as Blue Waters (A Tainted Waters Novella), My Wolf and Me, Steal Me (A Haunted Roads Novel), Rain (A Stranger in the Woods Novel), Serenity (A Forever Series Novel) and also The Forever Series music.

India was born and raised in Florida but has also been so lucky as to live in Idaho (where she froze but fell in love with the small town life), Austin Texas (where she started her first book, Serenity, and met wonderful artist), and now Murphy, North Carolina (where the mountains have stolen a piece of her heart).

Being a survivor of abuse, has inspired India to let others know they have nothing to be ashamed of. She put her many years of professional theater background to the test and has written fictional stories with a shadow of her personal experiences. She says, “I’m simply finding ways to empower perfect imperfections.”

Another cause India feels needs change, is Sexual Slavery. She has joined forces with jewellers to design beautiful ways to raise money for non-profit organizations. Even though India writes about serious subjects such as domestic violence, sexual abuse, and Human Trafficking, she has a magnificent sense of humor, as do the characters she creates. Perfectly balanced between laughter and tears, her readers see how to empower their own perfect imperfections.

Author links

website facebook goodreads twitter

Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

