Cleaning out my Goodreads TBR (Part 2)

I posted the part 1 to this yesterday, you can check it out here.

*Title links lead to GR pages


2136477. The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima

Jack, 16, has always been taking medication daily and has a scar on his heart- these are the things setting him apart from other students. One day, he skis medication and realises he is SO MUCH stronger and faster. And, he also almost ends up killing another guy. Soon, Jack learns the startling truth about himself: he is Weirlind, part of an underground society of magical people who live among us. There’s a feud, and they’re recruiting etc.

Another good-but-not-good-enough story, as I get from the premise.

21469108.jpg8. The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick

I have no idea how this came into my TBR. It sounds pretty interesting and if the story is written like the synopsis, I’m pretty sure I would get bored soon and would DNF it.

YA historical fiction, slightly fantasy. There’s time travelling and drawings and mad obsessions… Not my type but it might be the BEST for some others.

 

24909485.jpg9. Unforgiven by Lauren Kate

This is the fifth book in her Fallen series. In the fourth book, Daniel and Lucinda got their HEA. This book is about Daniel’s friend Cam. Cam loves Lilith but she’s in the underworld. He makes a bet with Lucifer that if he can make her love him in fifteen days, Lilith will be allowed back into the world and they can get their HEA. Otherwise, there’s a place for him in Hell.

I didn’t particularly like the Fallen series and only marked this because I wanted to finish the whole series. Now, I’m changing my decision. I’m not interested. I believe this can be read as a stand-alone too, without the previous four books.

16068780.jpg10.  The Jewel by Amy Ewing

I read the synopsis now and I’m not understanding how to tell you want it is. There’s a surrogacy auction, something about being/having the jewel and the MC being purchased. There’s lies between the jewel’s facade and an illicit affair.

 

 

916687711. The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross

Synopsis sounds intriguing. Science fiction>steampunk, YA, historical and kinda fantasy. Interesting and I’m pretty sure I added it because I thought it would be a good story. But now I realise its kinda not my type. I might come back to it someday but not sometime soon.

 

 

12. Heart of Brass by Kate Cross

12004775.jpgArden, undercover for The Wardens of the Realm who protect 1898 steampunk England, has the status, wealth, and independence of a countess – and can see the final moments of a murder victim’s life. Her husband Lucas vanishes until she spots him one night. The Company wiped his memory, sent him to kill her, but he cannot. Yet if he does not, someone will — and kill him.

Oooh. But again, not my type, so I’m removing it. Steampunk, romance, historical. Pretty sure I added this just because it had “clockwork” in its series name. I believe I had just finished The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare then.


And that’s it for this post!

Have you read any of these? Do you want to? What do you think?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

