Book talk

Cleaning out my Goodreads TBR (Part 1)

If you’re a book lover and absolutely adore reading and are obsessed, you would understand my problem of having toooooo many books in my TBR (To Be Read). I not only have it in Goodreads, but also in my notes app with a list of them and a whole album of photos called “Screenshots”. These are basically the schreenshots of books I want to read taken from Instagram photos. I haven’t been screenshotting since I got my new phone and my “social media cleanse” phase but I already have soo many.

In this post, I will be mentioning some books that I removed from my TBR list on Goodreads. Yes, I wanted to read them (and still might) but they’re not high in my preference list. I’ve got hundreds of books to read and it helps to prioritise. This way, I also get to revise what I can read next and realise what all I have.

So, here we go. (*Titles lead to Goodreads pages)

7058405.jpg1. The Ice Princess by Camilla Lackberg

I’m not sure why I marked this originally. Maybe I was in a phase where this would have been my type of book, but it’s not anymore. Its a Mystery-Crime novel. I’m not into that genre right now.

Its about a girl who comes back to her town after her parents’ funeral and finds that her childhood friend died (murdered, more likely). She’s getting into the story and a local detective is following his leads too. Small town with a disturbing past.

10805997.jpg2. Deviant by Adrian McKinty

Again, a mystery novel that I’m not interested in. Here’s the GR synopsis:

Danny Lopez is new in town. He made a mistake back home in Las Vegas, and now he has landed at an experimental school in Colorado for “tough cases.” At the Cobalt Charter School, everything is scripted—what the teachers say, what the students reply—and no other speaking is allowed. This supercontrolled environment gives kids a second chance to make something of themselves. But with few freedoms, the students become sitting ducks for a killer determined to “clean up” Colorado Springs.

376127.jpg3. Stick Figure by Lori Gottlieb

This looks like an interesting read about body image but I’m letting it go. Here’s the synopsis:

Growing up in Beverly Hills in the 1970s, Lori Gottlieb learned the lessons her culture had to teach her—for example, that “no one could ever like a girl with thunder thighs.” Lori took those lessons seriously, and saw her world fall slowly apart as she developed a fierce reluctance to eat—winding up hospitalized when her “diet” took over her life. Fortunately, she recorded the journey in her diary, and her story is funny, slyly insightful, and surprisingly universal.

87056934. Dark Mirror by Mary Jo Putney

YA fantasy book with magic and such, but it’s ratings and reviews aren’t good enough so this is going.

The youngest daughter of an earl discovers she’s got magic. An accident causes her to use it and reveal her powers. She joins a club or something and learns her full capability. She’s drawn to a Marquis. There’s some danger in Britian etc.

 

18600267.jpg5. The Revealed by Jessica Hickham

Another YA fantasy book with a girl whose father is one of the most powerful men. He’s running to be leader but an underground organisation turns up kidnapping 18 year old who have powers. She’s next and she isn’t going down without a fight.

The thing is, reading so many fantasy books, these cliched books don’t hold much appeal anymore. I’m removing this.

 

6. Compulsion by Martina Boon

20759498.jpgYA paranormal fantasy with ghosts and freedom-less MC. After her mom dies, she moves in with her aunt and is found prisoner in that home again, but this time with ghosts. There’s a sun-kissed boy, a mysterious cousin, love, danger and death.

Not my genre anymore so its going out.

 

 

 


I’m doing this clearing out a little at a time along with adding my “Screenshots” TBR into Goodreads to have it all in one place. I’m making this a series so arounf 5-6 books per post. Comment below if you’ve read these books, heard of them or would like to read them. Also, let me know if you’d be up for series’ like these. I WILL be doing them but I would like to know your thoughts 🙂

10 thoughts on “Cleaning out my Goodreads TBR (Part 1)

  1. Nah, I don’t think you’ve missed anything deleting these books. They don’t seem to grab my attention. Anyway, this is a great idea. I will go ahead and do this right now. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have over 500. I feel your pain. I just cleaned up/organized my physical bookshelf so added a bunch of things to my to-read list, but I previously removed some books, as well. I try to just add the first book in a series to keep it from being too full. I use Goodreads as a way to keep track of things I might want to read so I don’t forget. It is great for that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

