Book Reviews

The 100 || book review and comparison to the TV show

cd0e1de0cddbb95e4eb61ee32c53c051.jpgTitle: The 100

Author: Kass Morgan

Genre: YA Dystopia

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Synopsis:

No one has set foot on Earth in centuries — until now.

Ever since a devastating nuclear war, humanity has lived on spaceships far above Earth’s radioactive surface. Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents — considered expendable by society — are being sent on a dangerous mission: to recolonize the planet. It could be their second chance at life…or it could be a suicide mission.

CLARKE was arrested for treason, though she’s haunted by the memory of what she really did. WELLS, the chancellor’s son, came to Earth for the girl he loves — but will she ever forgive him? Reckless BELLAMY fought his way onto the transport pod to protect his sister, the other half of the only pair of siblings in the universe. And GLASS managed to escape back onto the ship, only to find that life there is just as dangerous as she feared it would be on Earth.

Confronted with a savage land and haunted by secrets from their pasts, the hundred must fight to survive. They were never meant to be heroes, but they may be mankind’s last hope.

My review:

I picked this book up after watching Season 3 episode 4 of the TV show and I found so many differences. Sure, I expected it but some things were completely different from the start. Despite that, I don’t like one less than the other. I like each of them as their own.

Jason Rothenberg wanted to make this a TV show before the book’s release itself, and what a hit it has become. One way, it’s slightly unfortunate for the author if she wants to add follow up books because there’ll be certain pressure that it should/shouldn’t be the same as the show.

Reading the book, I get a sense of how the story originally was, names for events and such which were changed/excluded in the show. We get to see how Clarke and Wells met, the real fourteen-year old Octavia and also some other characters.

For show watchers, let me tell you, there is no Finn and Raven; no Abby and Jasper too. Since Octavia is so young, I’m assuming there will be no Lincoln either. The reason Clarke’s parents were were killed was also different.

Since you’ll know this pretty soon if you read the book, I’ll tell you here—Wells and Clarke were a proper Item. They dated and loved each other, which made the betrayal worse.

Wells’s best friend Glass, who is not in the show, made a pretty good character. I was wary of her initially but soon acquired a liking for her. I’m slightly disappointed she wasn’t brought into the show. I understand it would be hard to keep up with her and her acquaintances too upon new show characters, but I’m still sad I don’t get to see her in motion.

In the book, I actually got invested into somethings which was not possible in the show with the plethora or characters.I got invested into Clarke and Wells as a couple, Bellamy as a person, and also got much more insight into the pasts of the main characters’ stories.

Despite all, the novel felt pretty short and I couldn’t get much into present events as many of them felt like simply triggers for bringing up the past. Not long in the timeline passed before the book abruptly finished.

Overall, the book was pretty good. I’m not in a hurry to read the next book though, especially if it’s timeline is will be like this one. I will read it, soon, but not immediately.

Add to Goodreads

Have you read the book and/or watched the show? If yes, what are your views? If not, would you want to read/watch it?

6 thoughts on “The 100 || book review and comparison to the TV show

  1. I didn’t have an issue with the ending, but I think I read all three books in succession, so I could move straight on to the next one. Although if I’d watched it first I might not have had as much patience with it as the events of book 1 are covered (loosely, with huge changes) over 4-5 episodes, if that. It’s been a while since I read them, but I definitely agree that it would have been great to see Glass in the show, and although I love some of the new TV show characters I think the plot of the books is a little more interesting than the show, maybe because it wouldn’t have worked so well on screen if it hadn’t been changed.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I did, but I see why they couldn’t adapt it exactly as it was for TV. I was pretty disappointed that Wells was killed off so early in the show because he’s one of my favourite characters in the books, and it seemed unnecessary.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes! I wad kind of expecting that he would be killed in the book series too and I didn’t want that because I got invested into him. But I read the synopsis for the fourth upcoming book and was relieved that he’ll be alive. Although it would be difficult to read about him being sad after Clarke and Bellamy get together

        Like

Leave a Reply

