16124865.jpgTitle: Falling for the ghost of you

Author: Nicole Christie

Genre: NA romance

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Synopsis:

Seventeen year old Violet Mercer returns home from her summer vacation in Hawaii to discover her boyfriend’s cheating on her with a friend. As if that wasn’t bad enough, her mother’s marrying a man she just met.

Things take an awkward turn when Violet meets her rich new stepfather, and his gorgeous son—the hot guy whom she made a fool of herself in front of earlier that day! Zane O’ Connor is sexy and charming, and way out of her league. He makes her forget her ex-boyfriend even existed. But there’s no way she’d ever have a chance with him…right?

Through a strange turn of events, Violet finds herself living with Zane for a month. Somewhere between the fighting and flirting, they become friends. And it isn’t long before that friendship blooms into something else…something more powerful than Violet anticipated.

But Zane is hiding something from her–something big enough to tear them apart if Violet ever discovered the truth about him. Her suspicions keep her from trusting him completely. She’s been burned before—is she willing to take that risk again?

As she and Zane spend more time together, Violet realizes it’s too late: she’s fallen for the beautiful boy with the big secret. Will she get her heart broken twice in one year—or will her love survive the truth?

For readers seventeen and older due to sexual situations and language.

My review:

I don’t usually like books about siblings or legally siblings but I really wanted to like this one. It has a pretty good average rating (3.99/5) and many reviews in goodreads were highly positive. did want to like it. But I was highly misled.

I liled the story from the start till about halfway. I liked the characters moderately and was warming up to them. The story was really funny and I had an almost constant smile and I chuckled/laughed quite some. Unfortunately, that’s the only redeeming quality I found.

Quickly, I realised about halfway through that Violet does not have anything to her except getting into funny situations and blurting out random, dirty things (which she got from her mom) when she is flustered. She’s really possessive about Zane, is a bitch about it, easily gets mad. She’s so immature, I cringed multiple times.

Whipping up: one psychotic jealous girlfriend. 

I still continued HOPING that she’ll start using her brains. No such luck. She DID admit that she has those tendencies and that she should stop active that way but.. I didn’t see much difference. She fights a lot with him over it AND.. read further..

But the sick thing is.. I kind of like starting fights with him. It’s devastating, exciting.. foreplay.

I know, I’m a freak. God, I can’t wait to see him again.

um…

No.

Zane was an “okay” character. I didn’t have any problems with him until the epilogue *which I’ll rant about below in the spoilers section*.

Overall, I’m being generous with two stars. If it sounds like your thing.. go for it.

Goodreads

Now for the spoilers.. more like rants because I need to get it out..

WHAT THE FUCK ARE THOSE CHARACTERS

I don’t understand why the book has so many body following reviews! All with GIFs and cute emoticons. Deceived me, all of them. I’m going to write a “goodreads reviews you should avoid” or “misleading goodreads reviews” soon. I’m so enraged. I found ONE bad review amongst the seven I scrolled through and I thought it’ll be nice!

One review said that “she still considers herself fat” and mentioned insecurities, but really, all I got was how huge her boobs are, MULTIPLE TIMES. Please just shut up.

I felt like telling Violet to shut up soo many times. She is seriously like Sophie in <<If we were a movie>>. I could literally sense her becoming into that danger woman.

And I do NOT understand why her friend Lauren became pregnant in the story unless it was for the thoughts Violet got about having Zane’s baby. WHY??

In the end, they got engaged just MONTHS after they got back together after the break up. What shit? And when Violet told some old lady friend that she’s getting married, the old lady days she thinks Violet is pregnant thats why they’re rushing it. When Violet tells Zane this, he says about workibg to actually “put a bun in her oven”. Duuuude. She’s eighteen! This is the TWENTY FIRST century! Too fast, don’t you think? Glad she at least regained use of her senses at this point and said “too early”. Zane was too eager still though.

And and and! She CRIED after their first time together, which was also her first time! This was BEFORE she found out about his “secret”. She literally cried while taking a bath that he sweetly set for her after their first time. Even she doesn’t know why she cried! I felt like smacking my head but realised smaking HER head would be far better. Unfortunately, she’s not real. Thank goodness, I suppose. 

Not to mention, the author didn’t even touch on the age subject! I don’t have any problem with big age gaps (I’ve read a book about a woman falling in love with a man 11 years older and liked it) but the fact that Violet is SEVENTEEN and Zane is a “software engineer” and well established enough to have huge amounts of wealth? At least mention the age gap once! It was as if she was finishing college instead of high school.

I just.. can’t. You know what, forget it.

Review over.

 

 

 

 

