Book Reviews

If we were a movie || book review

28181098.jpgTitle: If we were a movie

Author: Kelly Oram

Genre: NA Romance, contemporary 

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Synopsis:

Music meets Movies in this sweet college romance from the bestselling author of Cinder & Ella.

NYU freshman Nate Anderson is a triplet who is desperate to escape his wild and crazy brothers. After they screw things up for him one too many times, Nate flees his housing situation and takes the first available room for rent as far from his brothers as he can get.

Enter his new roommate Jordan–a quirky LA girl who believes that everything in life has already been done in the movies. In this heartfelt tale of love, friendship and family, Nate learns how to deal with his new adult life using Hollywood films as a guide.

My review::

This. This was the book I was looking for. NA, romance, slightly YA contemporary, none of the instant lust and love. I repeat, no insta-love. 

I read it in one sitting and I absolutely adored this book. The banter between Jordan and Nate, the triplets thing, Pearl being a matchmaker—all were solid points that drew me in for good.

The book is told only from Nate’s POV, which is a change for NA romance, and I could relate to him on his struggles. He’s not a very very music-obsessed guy like so many other musicians I’ve read about. He’s like any other college guy, but with an amazing passion for making music. He doesn’t stick to classics and mixes up genres; is a rock star on the side without a revolving door of girls. He is not at all the brooding-type, takes life light and generally wants to do good and also have fun. I also understood how he stayed with his girlfriend even though she was a bitch plain rude. Right from the start, I could sense something off in that woman, telling me she would be big danger.

And Jordan—I’ve never read a book with such a female lead, and reading it from Nate’s POV made it all-the-more better. She’s funny, easy-going, understanding, bold, supportive and a really good friend. She is just the type to pick arts stream and be a film major. She’s not overly pretty or concerned about her looks, but about comfort.

All the chapters in the book are film titles and in the respective chapter the resemblance of an event with one in that movie is shown. Since both MCs stick to their area, they don’t have a favourite movie or a favourite song. This starts each of them making the other listen/watch many so they can pick a favourite.

The connection between them was mostly through personalities and only later, attraction. 

When “the issue” came and they broke apart, I was almost blindsided. I resigned myself to an ending which is not HEA because all signs showed that. A little in, though, I made up theories on how it could turn out fine. I was right! So, take note, it’s a HEA novel. 

Points for: highlighting the issue faced by art majors and how most people automatically assume they have no future even if they’re passionate.

The epilogue, though, set me off-balance. It was off-character to what they were made up to be. I understand the author’s wish to give a complete HEA but I could have gone without that last part. 

Overall, a good, slightly light-hearted read. Recommended to insta-love haters, fun banter, cool and not-much-baggage MC lovers.

Add to Goodreads

8 thoughts on “If we were a movie || book review

Leave a Reply

