Book Reviews

Endangered || ARC review + giveaway

Endangered cover.jpgTitle: Endangered

Author: Dani Hoots

Genre: YA Urban Fantasy

Status: Book 1 of Daughter of Hades series

Goodreads || Amazon IN || Amazon US || Amazon UK ||Amazon CA || Amazon AU || Amazon DE || Barnes & Noble || Author Store (signed) ||

Synopsis:

Chrys has been in the Underworld for thousands of years, hidden away by her father, Hades, from all of the other gods. He’s afraid that if someone finds out about her, they will destroy her because of the dichotomous power that she holds, the power of life and death. So she has remained in the Palace of Hades all her life, making very few friends and always bored out of her mind.

Huntley would have never guessed that after he died he would wake up with a beautiful girl standing over him. And that she would be the Dark Lord of the Underworld’s daughter. Yet, for some reason, she keeps him around as her tutor, as if he knows anything about the world. But Huntley knows that all she really wants is a friend; being trapped in the Underworld can get pretty lonely.

That is, until Chrys decides she wants to run away to the human world after a big fight with her mother Persephone. Chrys claims her father is just over reacting and that nothing bad will come of it. There’s no way that the gods will notice she’s there for only a couple of days…right?

my-review-lightuptheshiningnightstars

Note: I was given an eARC in return for an honest review.

I signed up for this tour because the premise seemed pretty cool, it’s about Greek myth and I’ve never read a book centred around Hades. I’ll be honest, the synopsis and book cover doesn’t do the book justice, because I was initially hesitant to pick it up well in advance as it didn’t seem really inviting. I finally went ahead because this tour was looming up on me. I’m really glad I signed up for this, though.

As soon as I read the first line, this was my reaction: “Aha!” It clicked with me, if that makes sense. After that, I read it in almost one sitting because it was that good.

Hello and welcome to the Underworld. My name is Chrys, and I’m the daughter of Hades. May I take your coat?

Chrysanthemum “Chrys” is Hades’s secret daughter who has never been outside of her father’s ream since the time she was born (which was way way back). For companionship, she has taken Huntley, a dead human and AJ, a dead King who is also a son of Poseidon as friends. Huntley is supposedly her tutor and teaches her about human matters, but really, they just hang out. In this book, Persephone is a bitch, and Hades is a sweet guy. (Oh my gosh Hades, leave Persephone, marry me!) When Persephone is being her bitchy self again and Chrys gets hurt, again, she finally has had enough and wants to escape to Earth to see why Persephone loves Earth more than her daughter.

This leads to a major part of the book which is basically Huntley showing Chrys and AJ around Earth and being their tour guide. Chrys soaks up everything and likes Earth but in the end, she does feel homesick and misses her father. But! Complications complications because the problems rise up of which Hades was afraid of and kept her hidden from the start.

Now, I don’t know much about Greek myth other than what I know from Rick Riordan books. I did see some similarities-the main one being almost everyone hating the gods. The story took a twist in the end and almost everything was unpredictable except the actions of one character (who I completely figured out a few chapters in).

Talking a bit about the characters: Chrys is this super-powerful goddess and a total teenager. I don’t get that feeling that she has been alive for very long. She and Huntley have had a totally platonic relationship till now and it changes slowly. Huntley is also a normal teenager, who is dead, and he’s a pretty likeable character.

But Hades, oh Hades. He’s this sweeeeeet guy who loves his daughter and doesn’t hold Persephone’s hatred towards him against her. He tries to mend their relationship a lot and always thinks about his daughter’s feelings and tolerates Huntley just because he makes Chrys happy. If I had to choose who to date between Huntley and Hades, I would say Hades without hesitation.

The writing is good, brings you that teenage spunk and mindset, easy to dive in. I found out one small mistake that should have been picked out while editing, but I got an ARC so I hope it’ll be rectified out later.

Overall, a really good book, and I’m really glad that this portrays Hades as a good guy. The plot, the meaning, all the emotions were shown really well. The ending brought the high a bit down because I just didn’t feel that oomph! I had running until then. Still, I really want to read the next book. Recommended to anyone who likes Rick Riordan books.

 

four-stars

About the author:

dani hootsDani Hoots is a science fiction, fantasy, romance, and young adult author who loves anything with a story. She has a B.S. in Anthropology, a Masters of Urban and Environmental Planning, and is currently in the Your Novel Year Program through Arizona State University.
Currently she is working on a YA urban fantasy series called Daughter of Hades, a historic fantasy vampire series called A World of Vampires, and a YA sci-fi series called Sanshlian Series.
Her hobbies include reading, watching anime, cooking, studying different languages, wire walking, tinkering with her violin and concertina, and volunteering at the library. She lives in Seattle with her husband and two cats.

Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Leave a Reply

