Blogging

How I balance life and blogging

I saw this over at Fictional Living and thought that I’d do a similar post too. I don’t usually participate in the weekly conversations meme but since this topic is interesting, I’m only doing this one (yet).

Now, how do I balance life and blogging? I’m not sure, really. I won’t say I’m bad at it because I’m pretty good at posting and keeping to schedules; but it’s more of a free thing. As most of you know, I’m a daily blogger and sometimes it might feel overwhelming to post every single day, but it’s really not that hard.

I carve out about half an hour per post. I just write them and post them. A lot of times when I reread my posts a few days later I think about how I could have done something else, written it better; but you know what? It’s okay. I just leave it.

Now, since I only take about half an hour, I go about life pretty easily. Only rarely I don’t have ideas to post about so I don’t spend time thinking about what to write on.

As for the guest posts and book ours, I type them out and schedule them. That day, I don’t have to worry about getting it up in time. Scheduling is an amazing thing. On days when I’ve already posted something and still typed another one, I schedule it for later and the next day I don’t have to worry.

So, what I mainly do to blog effectively and still not waste a lot of time on it:

  1. Don’t worry about posting. When I get the idea, I write it down or make a draft on my notes app and later expand it into a full post. That way, I have at least three-to-four ideas still on my phone right now that I can pull up when I’m blank.
  2. Schedule whenever you can. Instead of posting two posts on one day, save the second for another day. Once, I had posted FIVE posts in one day and a few days after that I ran out of ideas and didn’t post. Don’t let that happen.
  3. Don’t strive for perfection, you will never be satisfied. Imperfections are good too. We don’t want some highly professional writing or reviews, we just want what you think. Pour yourself into the post, make a few changes if you want, and publish it. Don’t spend an exorbitant amount on editing and changes.
  4. Blogging isn’t everything. Don’t put your life events on hold for it. When it’ll come to you, it’ll come to you. Don’t be too worried, and just have fun. Say what you want, and if you have nothing to, you don’t HAVE to. I know the blogosphere is better than IRL 😉 but we will wait, life won’t.

And that’s it. I hope you could get something, a small teeny tiny morsel from this.

Have a great day! 🙂

9 thoughts on “How I balance life and blogging

  1. Nice! A very awesome post!

    I think structuring is going to be a big thing for me when I wind up moving back into the semesters and juggling schoolwork and other tasks. As of right now, I like doing the daily prompts (when I have the time and inspiration), gift arts, tags and topic posts. I’m planning on doing more topic posts related to wellness and recovery from mental illness, and I know that’s going to take a lot of planning so I’m gearing up towards that for the end of this week. I like the idea of structuring it out though, that’s something I’ll definitely be learning to pick up, and I also like the idea of keeping things imperfect. That way you can learn and grow from what flaws or mistakes you’ve perceived to be existing in a post.

    I also think it’s really important to remember that life comes first. The past couple of days I’ve been away from the blogging land, and I’m finding the one thing I want to do when I get home from a long day is relax and just explore the Internet. I’ll watch some Youtube videos, listen to them, or find some blog posts I like and plan to comment back on later. So far, it’s a nice working system 🙂

    Thank you for sharing your blogging experience!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such an awesome post! I really enjoyed reading it and it was really interesting knowing how you deal with life whilst also running a blog. I have only been blogging for about a month but already there have been days when I just haven’t found the time and get really panicked and stressed that I haven’t posted anything… Scheduling really is a great thing isn’t it? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Though I can’t help me with trying to post THE perfect posts (it’s really hard for me), but yes, I completely agree with the point of not posting multiple posts daily. Unless you are actually having lot of time of leisure and you are more interested in writing it out just for yourself, you really shouldn’t posts multiple times a day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

