Book Reviews

The Crown || totally took my by surprise

26198897Title: The Crown (The Selection #5)

Author: Keira Cass

Genre: YA dystopia

Status: Book 5 of The Selection series

Goodreads || Amazon IN || Amazon US || Amazon UK || book depository || B&N ||

Synopsis:

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

my-review-lightuptheshiningnightstars

Let me be honest—I was hesitant to go into this book. The Heir was a 2.5/5 for me and I really didn’t like Eadlyn. Sure, in the beginning it was hard to suddenly read from Eadlyn’s POV instead of America’s and I blamed it on that but soon I realised I just didn’t like the main character.

When I finaly finally got this book because Amazon.in said it would release here only on 22nd June and gave me a heart attack, and then suddenly sent an email saying it would come a month early, I didn’t really jump on it because I was on a personal low. But the next day I spent reading this, hugging it, admiring the gorgeous cover and simply loving it. I MEAN, LOOK AT THE COVER!

I was rooting for Kile from the start because their story seemed so nice! And then the ending of The Heir left me in pieces. This book reaffirmed my faith Keira Cass and I really liked it! I finished it in one sitting and my mom continually tried to get me to do some work but I just wouldn’t stop reading because this was so good!

I’m in love with him, and I want marry him. And even though he hates having his picture taken, I want to take a thousand so I can put him on my wall and wake up to to us laughing everyday.

Reading from the Royal’s POV, we don’t get to know all the details between the participants like with America but it gave an important insight into the other side of things. Also, we could predict the ending for America because, obviously, she would get selected since the book was from her POV but here we are left wondering. 
And I want us to find out own thing or maybe find out that our own thing is everything, because I feel like if I have him, even the stupid stuff would matter.
It ended completely differently and unexpectedly, and I suppose Keira wanted that. It took a while for me to like the new guy and leave Kile but soon their love triumphed. In the end I almost thought it wouldn’t end happily but of course, it did. Silly me.

I also liked the way Cass brought in the significance of seven minutes. The Heir started with its mention and The Crown end with everything being decided within seven minutes.

Happily ever after could be waiting in a field a mile wide. Or a window as narrow as seven minutes.

Overall, a really good ending to the series. I loved how The One ended and was wary of two additions, but I soon got over it and loved it almost the same. I still love Maxerica more, sorry-not-sorry.

four-stars

4 thoughts on “The Crown || totally took my by surprise

Leave a Reply

