Blogging

Static front page: things to do

Hello fellow blogger! Here is another post on blogging tips and suggestions. In this post, I will be talking about what to do when you want/have a static front page.

Admittedly, having a static front page doesn’t mean you just write a welcome post and leave it at that. Visitors have to be able to access your posts and view them.

First, why a static front page, you ask?

I would refer you to my own static front page. Now, what do you see?Basically, static front pages are for giving messages to new visitors and telling them a little about your blog or yourself. Personally, I use it to say what I post about in this blog.

Since visitors are prone to scrolling only a few posts in a blogroll before deciding, it sometimes limits what my blog is perceived as since I post a variety of posts.

Now to the main part, your work doesn’t stop after putting in a static front page. It might say what you post about, yes, but visitors still want to see your posts to get a feel of it.

Most people do this even if they keep blogrolls but it is more important for ones with static front pages. Display archives, categories and recent post widgets in the sidebar. This will make it easier to navigate and access posts.

Do add a separate blogroll.

Until a few days back, I didn’t keep a separate blog roll and instead added a “P.S.” after my message and told my visitors to navigate through the sidebar widgets which made it harder and taxing for them. I, too, felt it wasn’t good.

Only now though, I had time to research and find out how to put in a separate blogroll. I was really confused at first to how it works, but I finally tried and got it.

How to add a separate blogroll:

  • Name your static front page to anything other than “Blog”. Example: Home (I named it Welcome Aboard)
  • Make a new Page and name it “Blog”.
  • Don’t put any content in the page.
  • Make it a “top level page”.
  • Make sure the comments are off for the page.
  • Now go to customise your blog and add the page “Blog” in the main menu.
  • OVER!

Apparently, the word “Blog” as a Page name is some kind of trigger. It automatically creates a blogroll. Although, for my theme it doesn’t come as a regular roll but it is cool the way it comes for me in desktop. In other themes, it might come normally.

Sometimes when faced with a static front page (which a lot of things sound like a first post), visitors might think that the blog has just started out and there is no content. I’ve had to say it quite a few times and later added it in my front page that “yes I have posted content”.

To curb that, make sure your Main menu has some links. Put some widgets in your sidebar that show your posts (like the ones I mentioned above) and make your blog look filled. Suggestion: try not to write the message in your front page such that it looks like a first post.

Working around static getting pages take time. Especially to find what you like as well as what would be appealing to visitors. Don’t rush perfection. Develop it over time and don’t be disappointed if it doesn’t click immediately. I took a while to like it, but I kept through because my reason for putting a static front page is valid.

Do you have a static front page? If not, would you consider having one? What are your thoughts on this?

8 thoughts on “Static front page: things to do

Leave a Reply

