Writing

Counting beats

1.. 2.. 3.. 4..

One word to question my life

Why

Two words, everyday, running in my mind

No more

I had three words to say when we met

Leave me alone

Four words when you wanted to be my friend

I don’t see why

 

5.. 6.. 7.. 8..

Some five words when I finally gave in

Will you stop pestering me?

Six words in my mind when I started to love you

This is just a stupid phase

Seven when you asked me to love freely

I’m not sure I can do this

Eight words when we found our rhythm

I can’t believe this is happening to me

 

8.. 7.. 6.. 5..

Eight from you when we came down from the high

I can not have you being so clingy

Seven from me when we never went to parties together anymore

Are you ashamed to be with me?

Six in my head when we started to crack

I hope we recover from this

Five from a friend who noticed a lot

Maybe you should give up

4.. 3.. 2.. 1..

Circling in my mind were four words

You gave me hope

Three that I repeated to try to mend this

I love you

Two when you broke me after I bared my heart

Stop this

I had only one left while you turned around

Please

 

I am somewhere worse than before you came into my life

 

There are no more words left in my heart

 


This is something completely jumbled up that I wrote on a whim. I’ll need to fix it and rewrite later because it’s not really a poem, not really a story. I want to make it into something good—readable.

I feel like I added too much story into it and it’s not simple anymore or I added too many counts.. I’ll try again some other time.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Counting beats

Leave a Reply

