Book Reviews

Dearest Clementine || cute college romance

dearest clementine.jpgTitle: Dearest Clementine 

Author: Lex Martin 

Genre: NA Romance

Status: Book 1 of Dearest series but can be read as a standalone

Goodreads || Amazon IN || Amazon US || Amazon UK || book depository ||

Synopsis:

Twenty-year-old Clementine Avery doesn’t mind being called bitchy and closed off. It’s safe, and after being burned by her high school sweetheart and stalked by a professor her freshman year of college, safe sounds pretty damn good.

Her number one rule for survival? No dating. That is until she accidentally signs up for a romance writing class and needs material for her latest assignment. Sexy RA Gavin Murphy is more than happy to play the part of book boyfriend to help Clem find some inspiration, even if that means making out…in the name of research, of course.

As Gavin and Clem grow closer, they get entangled in the mystery surrounding a missing Boston University student, and Clem unwittingly becomes a possible target. Gavin tries to show Clem she can handle falling in love again, but she knows she has to be careful because her heart’s at stake…and maybe even her life.

my-review-lightuptheshiningnightstars

I’m so glad I read this book! My thoughts are a bit jumbled about this book so I’ll break it down to what I liked and didn’t like for better understanding.

I liked all the characters, they’re emotions and relationships. There was sibling relationship, friendship, love (of course) and even enemies-turned-friends.

A good story with enough deliberation and thought to the plot. I figured out who the villain was pretty early though.

This isn’t a boy-comes-and-saves-girl story, so another point in my book. The girl is actually pretty fine when they meet and fall in love. There is attraction, yes, kinda, but no love at first sight. I think most readers will appreciate that. I liked how they planned to say/said I love you too each other.

Other characters have personalities, and even though we don’t know that much about their lives, we understand how they are. As the book progressed, I felt the familiarity with the characters (even the side-characters) like I knew them myself.

Like in Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire, in this book there isn’t only the girl taking help of the smart boy. Gavin comes to Clem a few times to help with his work too. I liked that he actually took help from the fact that she was smart and knew something.

Now, onto what I didn’t like. There was little-to-nothing about Gavin’s life and family. The whole story revolves around Clem’s and I feel that gaping hole in my information about the male lead. Might have given it a 4.5 if more Gavin back story was given.

Also, the last line in the epilogue (the only one which is in Gavin’s POV) addressed the reader and I don’t know why but that put me off. Not a very important point though so you can gladly ignore this paragraph.

Recommended to readers who like: romance, leads who are writers, bad past, no insta-love, and no guy-saving-girl.

three-and-a-half-stars

Leave a Reply

