Book Reviews

The Raven King || and it’s over

the raven k.jpgTitle: The Raven King

Author: Maggie Steifvater

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Synopsis:

Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted.

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey…and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.

My review:

I gradually liked the previous books more than their respective sequels. Blue lily, lily blue was best. I started this and the same writng style sucked me in.

Let me state what I liked first:

  • Gansey and Blue. The small gestures of love and PDA, their holding hands and hugging—I loved it all.
  • Pynch. Might be a spoiler but it is canon! We don’t get too much, just a little bit and a couple good scenes, that’s all.
  • This point is both like and unlike: Quite a few chapters started with “Depending on when you started the story, it was all about _____” with a character name. The first two or three times it worked but afterwards it didn’t. This showed all minor characters though.

By the time only 90 pages were left in the book, still nothing had resolved and so much was left, that I started becoming worried. Till then everything was pretty fine but I wondered whether reading the end I’ll find out that there is no real ending at all. That’s when things went wrong.

What I didn’t like:

  • The ending. All of it. Will be elaborating it in the following points.
  • What happened when they found Glendower. A good twist but I didn’t like how it happened.
  • The parts after that were pretty okay but not that great either (except for Blue and Gansey).
  • The epilogue. AT ALL. Sorry but I guess I would have preferred a goodbye between all of them and one last meet more than what happened.
  • Yes Adam had to get closure with family. Yes had to show Ronan and the barns. But there was no mention of pynch.
  • Blue, Gansey and Henry in the epilogue and that scene. I just didn’t like it.

In the end, though, I guess ending such a story is hard. The author tried to give us something unexpected and others might like it but I didn’t really. If you’ve read my reviews before, you would know that endings are important to me, so this one put a damper.

I would go ahead and recommend the series because it IS really good and I would say read it all in one stretch or without much gap between books—then maybe the ending won’t hurt so much because of the big picture.

The Raven Cycle on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

