Book Reviews

Chasing Eva || meh. just meh.

chasing eva.jpgTitle: Chasing Eva

Author: Camellia Hart

Genre: Contemporary romance

Status: Book 1 of In Light of Shadows

Goodreads || Amazon US || Amazon UK || book depository || B&N ||

Synopsis:

An addictive, suspenseful & sensual story about a man and a woman whose lives are about to get sizzling hot…

After living through her share of disloyal relationships, Evangeline Avery will be damned if she lets another man cheat her. A beautiful and confident woman, Eva is the owner of an interior design firm at the brink of collapse. She swears to bring her company back to its past glory, even if it involves sweet talking the one man who caused this turmoil in the first place – Clive Stanton.

Notorious playboy Clive Stanton is a powerful businessman and a formidable enemy of many. He doesn’t do love, or at least not until he meets her again, fifteen years after he saw her last. Eva, his crush from teenage years, the one that got away, is back in his world and he is determined to do anything to make her his.

Will passion and lust bring them together or conflict and the unforgettable scars from their pasts forever tear them apart?

my-review-lightuptheshiningnightstars

Note: I received a free copy in return for an honest review.

I had read an excerpt of the first few hundred words or so in another blogger’s post and I really wanted to read it so I jumped on the opportunity to get a review copy.

To put it bluntly: I expected more.

The excerpt (the beginning) was really good and it left me wanting to read more. Unfortunately for me, the rest didn’t come up to the par.

  • There were obvious fifty shades inspired scenes such as mention of playing with bondage and the helicopter ride with the guy piloting.
  • Billionare/rich handsome guy. Playboy. Linked with so many women.
  • Apparently they were each other’s first kiss but only Clive remembers her vividly as the only girl he had feelings for. She does not even remember/recognise him until he TELLS her that they met and that she was his first kiss and she replies.. “oh yeah you were my first kiss too”. HOW DO YOU FORGET YOUR FIRST KISS. HOW.
  • I noticed one VERY CLEAR plot hole that should have been picked out by beta-readers, editor etc. It’s not at all unnoticeable, the fact is actually relevant.
  • I pretty much figured out the “main mystery” of the villian. No element of surprise/mystery. It’s pretty much obvious from the beginning.

Overall, as I said, I expected more. It also ended in a pretty happy ending so I don’t feel like reading the next book. I know who is the villian, the couple already fought and made up and matches are already made for friends too. Even though we all scream about cliffhangers, we secretly love them (I know I do) and it makes us read the next book. This doesn’t have a cliffhanger. This was a lot like a stand alone.

three-stars

Leave a Reply

