Book Reviews

Too late || that ending??

29610595.jpgTitle: Too late

Author: Colleen Hoover

Type: Wattpad story (not published as paperback! And not going to be). 

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Synopsis:

Sloan will go through hell and back for her little brother. And she does, every single night.

Forced to remain in a relationship with the dangerous and corrupt Asa Jackson, Sloan will do whatever it takes to make sure her brother has what he needs.

Nothing will get in her way.

Nothing except Carter.

Sloan is the only good thing to ever happen to Asa. He knows this and he never plans on letting her go; even if she doesn’t approve of his lifestyle. But despite Sloan’s disapproval, Asa knows what it takes to get what he wants. He knows what he needs to do to remain on top.

Nothing will get in his way.

Nothing except Carter.

My review:

Coleen Hoover is my favourite romance author. I’ve read all her books. So when I saw this, I immediately had to read it.

I’m disappointed. This book veered into my bad side.

The beginning was fine, the middle was fine, the story was fine, but the ending.

I’ve read lots of stories where the female lead is abused, used, traumatised etc etc and this wasn’t too much for me. It does have lots of graphic scenes and descriptions that I winced a lot reading about it but it happens.

A very important part of a book is the ending, at least for me. The last chapter affects my rating a lot. It was all done until the last part and I cringed so bad while reading it. I kept swiping for the next page and next page fast because I wanted to get through it. And it ended right where I hoped there would be a good scene.

I might be a bit too harsh on my rating, could have given a 2.5 or stretching it, 3, but the thing is, I didn’t like the story that much. On the whole it was just okay for me.

Apparently she published this as a wattpad story for more freedom with the story and such. I don’t really wish that it would be published as paperback, unlike some readers who loved it (according to Goodreads reviews).

For all her perfect good books I’ve read until now, this is very different and I guess that’s what she means by freedom.

I’m eagerly waiting for her next book though, published one, which released in August. It’s called It Ends With Us and I like the book just by hearing the title.

Do I recommend it? Not really. If you need good endings like I do, I would say skip this. Otherwise, read at your own risk.

In Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Too late || that ending??

  1. Jeez now I’m kinda of scared haha
    She is one of my favorite romance novelist too and I loved her books but this story line doesn’t sound like something that would interest me so I’m not suppose by your rating. Have you heard of abbi glines ? She’s one of my favorites also

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

