Everything everything || writing style and story narration perfection

I finished Six of Crows at 12:30 AM last night and thought, let’s start a new book. Finished this one a few minutes after 3:00 AM. Living the life.


everything.jpgTitle: Everything everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Genre: YA contemporary romance

Status: Standalone

Goodreads || Amazon IN || Amazon US || Amazon UK || book depository ||

Synopsis:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

my-review-lightuptheshiningnightstars

This was one of the “start reading and don’t stop until you finish” books. Immersing, catchy, has substance and has a good plot.

Madeleine has SCID, which means anything in the outside world can trigger an allergic reaction in her and be fatal. She almost died when she was an infant, her mom said. A few points about her:

  • She’s funny, caring and is the typical “good teenage girl”, if that’s a type.
  • Everyday of her life has been the same, and it is artfully said using the example of “Madam, I’m Adam”. Front or back, it’s the same.
  • She writes reviews on her Tumblr page, which I really liked.

LIFE IS SHORT™

SPOILER REVIEWS BY MADELINE

THE LITTLE PRINCE BY ANTOINE DE SAINT-EXUPÉRY

Spoiler alert: Love is worth everything. Everything.

She writes these one liner-spoiler reviews a lot. And I noticed something which pretty much applies for any other reviewer too. The one line she says, it shows how she’s feeling and whether she is happy, lovesick, despairing or angry. How we see the book also depends on how the reader is feeling then.

ENTER OLLY. Now, she spends a lot of time mapping out the routines of her neighbours and picking out things about them. She starts liking Olly and she’s so clueless to what this means.

In the beginning, I was hesitant to how the thing between Olly and Maddy would work. She can never leave and that does strike so much sadness in her heart. I wondered if we’ll have a happy ending.

Everything is a risk. Not doing anything is a risk.

Note: It is a happy ending, in case that’s a deal breaker for you.

I had hunches throughout the book. Some things just didn’t add up for someone in her condition. There should have been more doctors, regular medical tests and I felt as if the author might not have added those important side-things. But no! It all makes a difference in the end.

A universe that winks into existence can wink out again.

Half through the book, I started wondering as to how the book could end happily, and I kinda figured it out but not how. But let me tell you, how it finally ended with her and her mom having a strained relationship, it made me really sad—for both of them.

What I liked about the book and the way it’s written:

  • Interactive and cool drawings throughout the book. I loved all of them.
  • Maddy’s notes about general topics and figuring out normal teenager things through the internet and mapping all of it out.
  • Maddy’s “rewards if found” that she writes in the first page of every novel she owns.
  • Really good lines, a couple of which I quoted above.

Recommended to: Anyone who loves YA books, and then some.

four-stars

 

7 thoughts on “Everything everything || writing style and story narration perfection

  1. Wonderfully written review! I know this book has been out for sometime now but I barely just read and reviewed it a month ago, upon hearing about the movie. I absolutely loved Maddy and Olly, their relationship was so irresistible, especially with the small vacation they take to Hawaii. I heard that The Sun is Also a Star is the best of Yoon’s works so I’m hoping to read that next.
    Anyways, I look forward to more of your posts in the future… Happy Reading! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Welcome to my blog!! And THANK YOU!
      I’m with you on Maddy and Olly! They’re just really cute. I haven’t had a chance to watch the movie yet, though. I really should. Have you watched the movie, then?

      The Sun is Also a Star was an okay read for me, to be honest. It was nice but I couldn’t get along with a few things. (I actually wrote a review on it, if you want to check it out) I hope you like the book, though!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

