Book talk

Current reads

Hello people of this lovely universe!

I’m not a person who usually reads more than one (max two) books at a time, but right now I’m reading so many, constantly finishing and starting new. I thought I will mention the books that I have read in the past few days, currently in the middle of and what I plan to read next.

In order, we have:

Jany Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

I started this in the end of March and still haven’t even completed half. Admittedly I do worse with classics so I expected that I would read slow.

As you can see in the pictures, instead of a blurb or synopsis, all it says on the back is “I had not inteded to love him.” I started this book with no previous knowledge about the story and expected it to be a romance story. Instead, for the first so many pages we are taken through her childhood. Sudden jump to when she is an adult and the love interest is introduced. At least, seeing the importance given to him, I assume he is the person she will fall in love with.

I do not like him. Yet, I read some concersations between them, ploughed through him telling his history. But I quickly got bored and started skimming paragraphs instead of really reading. Therefore! I paused reading it.

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas

I want to reread some of my favourite books so I read Legend, didn’t read the following books and went on to Throne of Glass. I read Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight simultaneously (as I have ToG as ebook and CoM as paperback). I finished CoM a few days back and now have to move on to Heir of Fire. *squeals because ROWAN <3*

_20160419_225257

 

The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead

27272506This too I have as an ebook. I’m not that taken by this book. I love the author’s Bloodlinea series (more than VA) and I expected more. True, this is completely different from her previous writing but still. I didn’t realise how far I got through and I kept jotting down review points in my notes app until I have enough to write an entire review.

I thought the book was coming to an end and the following events in the new place would be in the sequel, but instead I find that I haven’t even read half the book and there’s so much left. Also, I’m a bit bored by it so I left it for now, will get back to it soon.

If you ask me, borrow it or get an ebook. I’m not sure I would even want to buy the next book instead of just borrowing it from a friend later on when it reaches my country.

The thing is, it has received so much hype and I even read an ARC review which rated it 5 stars. I hope the second part picks up.

The Gravity Between Us by Kristen Zimmer

18456078

I read this after pausing The Glittering Court and I really liked it! This is the second book I’ve read featuring two women. Stereotypes about lesbian relationships saying that one will be more masculine in personality is mentioned. It isn’t like that, both can be feminine. Basically, it’s the story between two best friends. The sex scenes were weird, and I’m not ao sure about the pacing of the novel. I still gave it 4 stars though. *I won’t be posting a seperate review on this.

Lady Renegades by Rachel Hawkins

25518205The first two books of this trilogy were okay-okay for me. I didn’t like the main character much, could only partially relate to her. But the ending of the second book made me really want to read this one soon. I’m reading it right now and I see plot twists, interesting new additions and I can’t wait to see how this ends.

Also, can I say how much I like the cover tagline? “High heels. Higher stakes.” Genius.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

23437156.jpg

Yes yes I know I’m late in reading this. I’ve had it for a while but haven’t gotten around to reading it. Partially because of the hype and I’m too afraid if I read it during exams and tests the need to fangirl and stuff will get in the way of my studies.

But! A twitter friend of mine and I have decided to read together and we picked this one. We will start this around next week and I’m super excited to see what all the hype is about! I haven’t read any detailed reviews or seen any spoilers yet so proper, clean experience awaits.


Aand that’s it! Let me know in the comments if you’ve read any of these, want to soon or what you are reading currently. Let’s book talk.

14 thoughts on “Current reads

Leave a Reply

