The Journal

Camp NaNoWriMo day #10

Hello everybody!

Sorry for not posting exclusively yesterday. The scheduled guest post went up, though. If you missed it, it’s a haunting short story.

I think writer’s block is starting to come upon me, reader and I’m really sad about that. For the past couple days my writing hasn’t been good and I’m not sure what to do. My plan was that by 13th I would have around 17 thousand words at least, and then take a break until the 18th (as I will be going to my native those five days). Now, I’m not so sure about that.

I’m upto 12 thousand words, although there IS a scene that I wrote yesterday which I might scrap later on. To be honest, I already have a scene written and removed, saved into a folder in Scrivener saying “deleted scene”. There are so many ways writing can work, and you just have to be brave enough to own it that you’re piece must be removed, where it is applicable.

I’ve also thought a lot about where I want this story to go. It’s only the third day since the story started that the confrontation has taken place. One of the people is smart and she has already half through figured out the main plot. I have a feeling this story wouldn’t be long enough for a novel. I’m trying to be optimistic about 50 thousand words.

I think one problem is that it’s the weekend. I tend to write better when there is no one around to badger me and disturb me. How much ever I tell my mom, she’s a mom, and she has to keep checking in on me and talking about random things when in the room. It hinders the flow in my mind. Not to mention, she is obsessed about facebook and wants the computer. This is also a long weekend, we had Friday off for a religious festival and she has been at home ALL THE TIME. Maybe tomorrow, since she would be going to work, I can write more. Fingers crossed.

Also, I haven’t done any research into one of my main characters. She is an artist and I need to bring that personality into her. I think I’ll set aside a bit of time to decide how to portray the artist in her.

I’m having a ton of problems with this story and it’s only the tenth day! Granted, the story popped into my head only a few days before Camp started. I had planned on writing a fantasy and switched over to YA so fast, I hardly had time to set down all characters, relationships and small climaxes; leaving absolutely no time for research.

I don’t know where I’m going with this, and I have a feeling that I will not be putting this up for publication. The story is unique though, as far as I have searched there is no story like this published yet. I don’t know.. I think I’ll stick to the “age the novel” advice. Write it down now, let it be and come back later with a fresh perspective. Or at least, with a way on how to make it seem like a good novel.

My list of to-do things now:

  • Stop wasting time doing absolutely nothing.
  • Research into Aurora’s character.
  • Make a map and make the places defined.
  • STUDY PHY, CHEM AND MATH FOR EXAMS.
  • Try not to lose mind in this blathering heat.
  • Read the left over three books from this month’s goal.

 

And to everyone who has been keeping up with my short story series Promises, I’m really sorry that I haven’t completed it yet. I feel like I’m letting you guys down. But, I’m having problems writing good stuff right now so I think I’ll let it stay and finish it in another week or so.

If you worry about forgetting the previous parts, and to make it easier for you, I promise to post a recording reading the whole story (parts 1-4), fourth part being the last installment. So you can listen to it on SoundCloud as a proper story.

Oh, did I mention? I don’t think so. I like the ideas of spin-offs in books. While writing my Camp NaNo project, I am really liking the best friend of one of my main characters. As planned yet, by the end of the book he doesn’t end up with someone or his life isn’t that sought into. I want to write about him and discover more about him. Thinking of writing a story based on him later. Let’s see where it goes 🙂

And that’s it! This post has become a bit too long. Feel free to badger me about my writing, offer virtual candy and hugs, tell me that I need to study and blabber about whatever you want to.

Ciao xx

 

7 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo day #10

    1. I’m not bored at all, it’s just the timing. I’ve been trying to get my word count in for Camp NaNo and studying for my exams so it’s hard. It’s only in the last few days that I’ve been so irregular. I’m sorry! I will to post more

      Like

Leave a Reply

