Writing

Writing updates

I didn’t really have much of a mood to write until a small bit back. I even tried to write a poem with the daily post prompt (you might have read it as my last post) but I kind of hate it. After the progress I had made in poetry ever since I started this blog went up in flames, it seems. I agree, it’s been a while since I’ve tried poetry but I didn’t expect it to turn out so sucky.

Note to self: never try poetry when you’re not in a writing mind. 

I read a few chapters of Jane Eyre today, but only a few. I’m reading this classic slowly, partly because of the language and the words, but also because of the slow pacing until now. Not to mention the descriptive paragraphs! Sometimes, the words string together to make beautiful sentences that I have to mark with tags, other times it feels like there are too many details and I start to skip. Since I vowed that I would read a classic properly, I closed it the moment I realised I started skipping. Yeah, this is taking long.

I put in earbuds and started listening to songs and suddenly, I wanted to write. Actually, before that I was reading through posts in Lewis editorial about writing novels, what to do and not to do. While reading through, I realised how clichéd te beginning of my novel (that I tried to write last year) was in its beginning. Almost everything was something that’s too frequent and isn’t good. I almost immediately started brainstorming how to write a good starting. I decided, I’m writing it all over again (not like I wrote much yet anyway).

After I finished reading quite a few posts, I closed the browser on my phone and put in earbuds. A minute after listening to music somehow I felt like writing. My brain started working and I jotted down a few lines in the notepad app on my phone; typing is faster than writing on paper. I thought up a good first sentence and wrote down a small segment following that. After that, I realised I had to change the order of events and the events themselves if I make this change. So I stopped typing and started thinking about that.

Unfortunately, looks like my mind is only working towards writing directly and not planning ahead. I thought I’ll try again on paper but before that, let’s write a proper blog post that actually leaves me satisfied. So here we are.

I thought about saying the points that stuck with me about first sentences, first chapters and prologues in novels from what all I read today; but I suppose reading the original articles are better. Head over to the link above and read for yourself: there are many articles about almost everything you need to know.

I’m also attempting at using semi-colons and colons the right way. I’m still figuring it out.

I’ll leave you with a question, do you write better—easily—while typing or writing longhand? As for myself, I prefer typing most of the time because when I’m in that space, I just want to get all of it down as soon as possible. Writing longhand, especially with my handwriting, takes long and gets me frustrated. Only sometimes have I had the patience. What about you?

16 thoughts on “Writing updates

  1. never try poetry when you’re not in a writing mind. – This was going to be my suggestion in the previous post

    Also – Don’t hit yourself hard, be gentle you are doing great already.

    Few things I was going to say, but then I thought you will figure it out and so did you. You see the name – Iridescence makes a lot of difference !

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Yes, the name you chose, reflect a large part of who you are or who you want to be and when I read the name on the post, I am like, yeah, she will figure it out, I got nothing to say unless it is all bad 😀

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I see you liked the Reflection post ?

        This is what I mean by the post.
        Somehow, when I read posts, I cannot stop reflecting the magic they carry.

        If I have to completely make your day – Here’s the dialogue from movie Flipped

        Some of us get dipped in flat
        some in satin
        some in gloss
        but every once in a while
        you find someone who’s Iridescent.
        And when you do
        nothing will ever compare

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes, I like the flavor of the movie too. Most of scenes replay and I like it, because a lot of times, I try to see every event from the eyes of different people and it reveals a lot about people.

        Good times for your wish.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. About the question – I wait for the flow to come, even though most of it is prose, what I write, I wait for the poetic flow that I need about a topic. When I penned down a blog and if I feel it is not complete with my thoughts, I keep in drafts and take up some other time.

    About the typing or writing – I don’t even remember, when was the last time I held a pen 😀 (*See nice topic for me to post about )

    I note it down in my group for notes-
    Or send a msg to someone who can bear with my thoughts
    take a note in Keep
    or may be in the App directly

    Depending on the content and chain of thoughts, I put up immediately somewhere. But for a proper shoot out of post, I prefer to come onto big screen and then edit it before publishing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a bit back and forth when it comes to writing. I like to write out my words, but I do write faster with typing. Also, it seems my writing is stronger then. Whenever I write poetry, however, I must write it out on paper. Topic switch: I like to force myself to write through the ‘slump’, especially with poetry. If I hadn’t then I would still be in a writing slump and super stressed out. It doesn’t work for everyone or every time, but eventually you’ll create something great! Not everything I write turns out great like I wanted/expected it to, but it’ll get there. Keep writing!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. If I’m in a slump when it comes to a scene or anything, I choose to come away for a little while, so some housework or just take a day to let the story play out in my head.
    There was a time not so long ago when my book fell into a ditch and I had written as far as the story could go for then. So I took a break, went to the shop listening to some music and suddenly the gears shifted again, the characters picked up what they where doing and carried on their lives to which I watched, rewatched and then got it down when I was happy with it.
    Sometimes if I’m lucky, they will act whilst I’m writing, allowing me to continue the world at the same time they are living.

    Maybe I’m just a lil crazy haha

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

