General

Blog twitter account

I see quite a few bloggers having a separate twitter account for their blog. I’m confused.

What is it actually used for? To link your latest post, or just for random updates? Isn’t that what the blog is for-to share your thoughts?

To be honest, I don’t use twitter much. Once in two weeks would be my good performance. Also, I don’t really know what to tweet about. I hardly tweet in my personal account itself, how do you guys do it for the blog’s too?

Seeing a couple other blogs have twitter accounts, I thought maybe I could too. I could be regular and updated with it if I started to and wanted to. But then there’s the questions-what do I tweet about? Will anyone actually see it or will I be wasting time?

I don’t mean to be rude, I just want clarification. Answer my questions, someone?

4 thoughts on “Blog twitter account

  1. Hi! I have two Twitter accounts – a personal (@shealeairal) and one for blogging (@bookshelfbitch). Honestly, I use Twitter a lot more than any other social media site mainly because it is so easy to express one’s self (which is great for quick musings, random thoughts and mundane life updates). Also, it is a lot more interactive than blogging. Plus, blog posts are significantly longer than tweets. And there’s always this pressure to expound and to elaborate whereas Twitter’s 140 character limit forces you to be concise and straightforward.

    Why do I have a separate account for book blogging? Because not all of my college friends are into books as much as I am, and I don’t want them to deal with content they aren’t actually interested in. While I do advertise my blog every now and then in my personal account, I try to unleash most of my blogging feels and book fangirling in my other account. Twitter is great for posting quick updates about my reading progress as I can’t be bothered to constantly log in my Goodreads account. Also, it is a great way to interact with authors and publishers, especially if you want to let them know that you wrote a review about their work. Seriously, I still get ridiculously giddy whenever an author tweets me to thank me for my review. Aside from that, plenty of bloggers host Twitter chats in a bid for bloggers to get to know each other, effectively creating a closer knit community.

    Seriously, it’s great and I hope you try it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

