Writing

Why do we write?

I spent a lot of time scrolling through posts tagged ‘Writing’; it’s very interesting to see posts about writing progresses, tips, prompts and thoughts.

I just came across an interesting article which you can read here.

It’s about what we write on-things that we know and have experienced, imaginative realities or from complete imagination?

It got me thinking-why do we write what we write? There are several genres to write in, sometimes the writing of a person doesn’t exactly fit into one, but all that is publishing. There a biographies, stories inspired from true events, alternate realities, ones talking about the future-where we either innovate new ideas and update or the apocalypse.

Personally, I tend to read quite a few genres (classics and non-fiction are not my thing) and sometimes I wonder about where the idea came from. When I read Legend, in the back it’s written that the author, Marie Lu, was first inspired to write the book while watching Les Miserables one afternoon and wondered how the relationship between a famous criminal and a prodigious detective might translate into a more modern story. (Off-point, can I say she looks seriously beautiful?) I haven’t watched or read Les Miserables (I know I really should) therefore don’t know what made her think that. She ended up writing in an alternative-reality setting; don’t we all writers know how our stories end up changing a lot from the first point?

From what I deduce, writing is mostly a form of therapy. Many start writing through journalling and later move on. I, myself, find writing very calming. When I’m very frustrated, angry, or sad, I write something, anything, and feel much better after.

I write when it strikes me. I don’t really know what it is exactly but I just seem to string  sentences from the air. Most times it feels too.. Not great? So I chuck them. But many times I’ve experimented writing on topics that I usually wouldn’t. I remember how I wrote my first piece of poetry Girl in the mirror while I was out on a walk with my mum. Since I did not have either paper or pen, I jotted down the lines in the notepad app in my phone. I changed it only a bit afterwards (mostly owing to the fact that I did not know much about poetry). I hope that I’ve improved since then. Once, I even wrote a starting for a story on the back of my Computer Science question paper during the exam (yes, then).

What makes you want to write? What do you write and what inspired you? I’d love to hear all about it in the comments!

10 thoughts on “Why do we write?

  1. It’s always amazing to see why or how other people take on the writing process. Personally, it’s an addiction for me. I feel the need to write something every day. Some days I’ll write a bunch of nonsense, but then other days I’ll write these amazing articles. But every time my pen touches paper I become free, it’s like I’m in my own world. I wouldn’t trade this for the world. Great post!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I write when l feel my message or sentiment would benefit others. I write when l want to feel and grow. I also have had inspiration to write in lessons, exams or just as l wake up. I am inspired by my children and people l meet. Really enjoyed your post. Take care Cally.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting post, I loved reading! I think I write to give myself more confidence, because when I write something good I feel better about myself. I also enjoy using words and I get excited when I have a good idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I write because it’s the only way I can be myself and say things I’m too shy to say otherwise . I write when the mood strikes too otherwise if I try to force it , it never goes well so I try not to write just because it’s expected.
    Great post !

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post! Enjoyed reading it. 🙂
    I have done the same thing too, in my 10th grade finals I wrote my full about page (supposed to be a poem about myself) on the back page of my questionpaper, later I was caught and my invigilator read the whole piece, and was surprised at this activity of mine. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

